Forest Glen Satchel–A Friday Finish

Sherri from Thread Riding Hood emailed me a few weeks ago, would I like to join her and some friends for a sewcial night and test out her new purse pattern? Well, it didn’t take me long to say yes, despite the challenge of Friday night traffic across Toronto. And fortuitously I had just ordered some Cotton + Steel, so it was an easy decision on which fabrics to use.

Forest Glen satchel front

This is a great pattern because it allows you to use several coordinating prints (or even patchwork, which I may try next), and the extra layers on the bottom allow use of a sacrificial dark (boring) fabric to postpone the purse grungies.

So I have moved from my Noodlehead 2-4-1 tote to this brand new purse. Well, I would like to be just a teeny bit bigger. I do have a fairly large wallet, plus the requisite reading glasses (and the other essentials, like kleenex for runny little noses lol) take up a bit of room. I think I would also like to try a purchased webbing strap. It does work great cross-body; I don’t know if I could ever go back to a shoulder bag, since switching to cross-body when I was carrying a toddler around.

Forest Glen satchel with 241 tote

Forest Glen satchel with 241 tote

Forest Glen satchel interior

Filled and ready to go

I added an inset pocket and moved the included pocket to the other side of the lining, but that’s the only change I made.

Forest glen satchel inside

 

Sherri has a fantastic eye for proportions in her designs, and this pattern, including tons of time-saving sewing and assembly tips, will be available for purchase soon.

Linking up to Crazy Mom Quilts Finish it up Friday and Fabric Frenzy Friday with Fort Worth fabric studio.

3 comments

  1. Nicely done Lisa. Beautiful cotton and steel fabrics. I admire anyone who can make a bag ; )

  2. Wow, lovely bag, great job!

  3. […] my own pattern, but I like to add my own spin, whether it’s adding a zipper pocket to my Forest Glen Satchel bag, or mixing and matching fabrics for a sampler […]

