Weekend Update

I actually accomplished more than I thought I would, considering my husband worked all weekend (extremely unusual). I mean, I love my daughter dearly, but she wants mom’s undivided attention all.the.time. D’you know?

A start on my little quilts swap. I had my little helper lay out the pieces, that helped keep her busy.

littlequiltsswap first hexagon

Some yummy Anna Maria Horner diamonds for the Starbright Quilt with Rachel at Stitched in Color.

A few more diamonds then it's on to low volume for the background.  #fridaynightsewalong #annamariahorner #starbrightquilt

We went shopping and made oatmeal cookies.

And, I finally stopped dithering about finishing the quilting on my triangles quilt and just did it (quilt along from The Sassy Quilter). Unfortunately I finished about three hours too late for the Q3 Finish A Long with Katy at the Littlest Thistle. A machine bound binding using Kona Azure (because I had a half yard and it was the first thing I grabbed out of my solids box), and it’s in the dryer right now to get wonderfully crinkled. You can go see some of my earlier photos here and here, and I’ll get a better finished shot once I can take it outside. This will be a baby gift for a work colleague, although at 51″x55″ it may be a little big.

triangle quilt binding roll

finished triangle quilt before washing

Linking up to Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts.

7 comments

  1. Love those loopy figure eights in the quilting… that’s one of my favourite quilting motifs (which I’ve never really tried before… one of these days!) Anyway, the quilt itself is really lovely – and it might be too big for a baby right now, but it’ll be perfect later on when the baby grows up a bit. That’s a quilt he or she can grow into.

    1. The lazy eights were a bit challenging once they were bigger than about 4 inches, but it added a nice element to the quilt top. The baby is a boy, but I picked the colours for this quilt from the AMH prints and I think they are gender neutral. I am really happy that this quilt is going to my colleague and her family, I think they will love it.

    2. I think it works for either a boy or a girl – it’s a more grown-up look than a lot of people would make for a kid (or a baby), but like I said… definitely a quilt he’ll be able to grown into!

  2. This looks fabulous Lisa!

  3. This is beautiful! Both quilts that I made for my babies (lo these many years ago!) were over 50 inches….they were able to use them long and well:)

  4. […] Pinwheels Star finish Triangle jewels finish […]

