In which I vacuumed

So that I could lay the Millstone quilt top out on the floor to measure for borders. Not having a pattern, I guessed at the proportions I need. The kona Ash is cut 2.5 inches wide, the aqua at 6 inches wide (to finish at 5 inches after squaring it up after quilting. I like having extra border for that.) With borders it is 78 inches square.

top layout before borders

A big round of applause for me! The top is finished which is my ALYOF (A Lovely Year of Finishes) goal for September.

I’m glad that I’ve used the Kaufman Spot On wide backing in this quilt, because I had originally purchased 3 yards but I had to take off almost 2.5 inches to square up the end before cutting the borders (the cut was that crooked), and there’s no way I would have gotten a king size backing out of it.

finished top banister

Photo taken at 9:30 at night, draped over the banister of our 150 year old, centre-plan house. There is a lot of wasted space in the hallway, but having a banister like this is great. See that 16 patch? I wanted to make the alternate squares from a solid piece of the Alphabetty print, but I ran out, so I made the 16 patch, but then I didn’t like it as the centre block, so it’s toward one corner. It’s these little quirks that give a quilt character.

Linking to Sew Bittersweet Designs, Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts, and Let’s Bee Social with Sew Fresh Quilts. Edited to allow comments, sorry folks!

2 comments

  1. This is beautiful! Congrats!

    1. I’ll baste it next weekend. Thanks for stopping by!

