Bee blocks and swaps, oh my!

I am still creating for my Canadian bee mates. Every month, a new challenge! (And I keep promising myself I will get the sashing cut for the blocks they made for me, stay tuned on that one).

July was Pam from Mad About Patchwork, who sent us some fabrics to base a scrappy strip around, which will become the Modern X block (go here to see her progress). I tried to go slightly bluer and slightly greener with my fabric selections, plus added the dark grey, and I like how it turned out. I didn’t think I had any of the taupe, but I found a charm square I could add to the mix.

July strips for Pam

August was Patti from Retired to Quilt, with a quick Woven block. This should be a fun layout.

August woven for Patti

September is Janet from Caribou Crossing Chronicles, who asked for sparkly union jack blocks. I discovered, however, that my stash seems to hold a lot of blue plus white or blue on blue, so this was the only blue fabric I could find that included other colours (yes, the red and blue are reversed, she said that was ok!).

Getting back to my September bee block for Janet #unionjackblock #traceyjayquilts #canadiansquiltbee

And I signed up for the Little Quilts Swap hosted by Sarah Fielke and Amy Lobsiger, so I received the book in the mail on Monday and am patiently stalking my partner for clues. I think I have a good concept and will sit down and cut out the fabrics in a week or so.

Linking to Let’s Bee Social with Sew Fresh Quilts and Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation.

little quilts image

9 comments

  1. You’re a busy quilter Lisa. I too have to make a Union Jack block this month and I’m terrified!
    Happy stitching

    1. The paper piecing makes this block pretty fail-safe, but it is more tedious.

  2. Love the Union Jacks!

  3. Wow, busy busy! I really love that weave block… Wow! I admire your Union Jack block. That block intimidates the heck out of me. Well done!!

    1. A cooler summer meant more sewing this year 🙂 On Sep 19, 2014 12:29 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Such fun blocks! I keep wanting to join swaps but really can’t commit the time and I’d hate to let anyone down! Maybe after a few more things are off my plate!

    1. i know, we have to balance all our responsibilities. but I do find it fun to make a more personal connection with other makers. On Sep 19, 2014 8:01 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. I love your August Block! It’s lovely!

    1. Thank you, I think the colours worked out well! On Sep 19, 2014 9:03 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

