Starbright Fabric Pull (Sunday Stash)

I love quilt alongs, I find them so inspiring. So I purchased Rachel’s (at Stitched in Color) latest class, Angled. After reviewing the projects she was offering, I decided to make just one quilt, Starbright. I am doing some smaller projects as well.

I have a lot of yellows (strangely in my stash, but then I was thinking about my growing collection of Anna Maria Horner fabrics, and the fact that I might never get around to using them, so I pulled them out to see if I had enough.
DSC_1992
DSC_1988
DSC_1986

Yes, I think so *smiles with glee*. Collections include Dowry, Field Study, Hand Drawn Garden, and True Colors. Some I had won last year or recently, the rest was purchased. I even have a couple extras which I will use for binding and on the back, and I have ordered more for backing.

DSC_1994

I’m going to use an assortment of low volume prints in grays and creams for the background. Squee! This is going to be fabulous. Linking up to Sunday Stash with Molli Sparkles.

17 comments

  1. Gorgeous fabrics! I’m looking forward to seeing what you make 🙂

    1. I have a great night of cutting ahead of me ☺
      >

  2. I like Rachel’s work. Enjoy your quilt a long : )

  3. Lovely!! I love the idea of low volume greys and creams as a background and think it will really make the AMH prints pop!

    1. I can hardly wait to get started!

  4. I can’t wait to see it! The colours are amazing!

    1. I’m sure there will be lots of progress spa on instagram☺ On Sep 15, 2014 9:19 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. fabric designs are so exciting! All the possibilities
    LeeAnna at not afraid of color

    1. Playing with pretty fabrics is my favourite part! On Sep 15, 2014 9:29 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. I am coming to love AMH the more I see it. I can’t wait to see your quilt, because it sounds like it is going to be amazing. Those fabrics and cream and grey? LOVE!

    1. The colours that she uses are amazing (apparently Free Spirit will let her use a maximum of 12 colours in a print [?]) and it was cool to see how the different fabric lines look together.

  7. AMH always works so well together! This is a gorgeously toned fabric pull. Thanks for showing that shopping from our stash can be just as exciting as shopping at the LQS!

    1. A little more washing, and I’ll be able to start cutting!

  8. This will be wonderful! I really look forward to getting to see your progress on this one!!!

    1. I can’t wait to get started myself 🙂

  9. […] I had to join this swap, after all it is AMH! When I started quilting and being drawn to modern fabrics, I wasn’t sure I liked the big graphics, but her saturated colours were irresistible. I was assigned AMH in a charm square swap (although most of the fabrics tended to be modern blenders, as the rest of the swappers seemed to implicitly agree that large prints are not so useful in charm square size), and ended up buying extra yardage to keep. I then won a fat quarter bundle in a giveaway, and added in more yardage on every order. Finally I decided it was time to stop hoarding it, and a large part of my stash is waiting patiently for me to finish sewing together the Starbright quilt. […]

