Millstone modern quilt

Or is it? What do you think? Would you label this quilt traditional simply because it uses a block-based sampler design? Or do the choices of modern fabrics from Lucie Summers, Caroline Friedlander, Connecting Threads, and Rashida Coleman-Hale make this definitely modern?

Millstone Quilt Final Layout

At any rate, I love how fast a quilt comes together at this stage. A few more seams, and the main part of the top will be done. I’m currently thinking about doing a narrow border in Kona Ash followed by a wider border in the Robert Kaufman Spot On, which will also be the backing. I bought this wide-back originally for a king size quilt which I haven’t even started yet, so I might as well use it here. And it struck me that using wide-back width-of-fabric for a border is genius, because then I don’t have to piece the border.

Sadly, I have had to clean up the spare room (and move everything into my sewing area, thus making it rather jam-packed) in order to allow my in-laws to visit this week, so I may not finish this top until next week. In my last post, I told you why this is no longer a queen size, but it looks like it will be about 73 inches square, which I think will be very snuggle-able for a tall young man (almost 15 years old!).

PS. I probably should come up with a more positive name, any thoughts?

Linking up to Let’s Bee Social with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts, and WIP Wednesday with Freshly Pieced.
wip wednesday

16 comments

  1. You can add “low volume” blocks to the modern criteria that this quilt meets. And their presence gives an asymmetrical quality to your quilt. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I’m really liking how it turned out. I’m glad I didn’t use sashing, it forces you to focus and try to find the block in the layout. I used most of my Alphabetty fabric too, I’m looking forward to cleaning out this WIP box (so I can put something else in it…).

  2. I say ditch the labels other than beautiful! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love sampler quilts and this one turned out so nice.

    1. Thank you for the sweet comment!

  3. kaystephenson · ·

    I would call this quilt traditional, but who cares about labels. I like it! As for a name, I kind of like millstone. A millstone was an essential piece of equipment that improved quality of life. On the other hand, the quilt has stars, crosses, circles… I might just call it something like “shapes”.

    1. I think my nephew will just call it “mine”. On Sep 11, 2014 6:48 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. I would say the fabric choices certainly give this a modern feel. But I have to agree with Cindy. Just label this one Beautiful! Love your choices for the borders, too. How nice that you will have company for the week. Enjoy your family time!

    1. It is one of a kind, and original, and I’m pretty sure my nephew will like it. So you’re right, that’s all that matters. On Sep 11, 2014 7:31 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. I see this quilt as modern but I think the lines between “modern” and “traditional” can be blurry in places. I say just make what you like and don’t worry about what to call it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Perfect! The best thing about modern quilting is losing those preconceived notions. On Sep 11, 2014 4:36 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. Either way, it’s a really gorgeous quilt. The border is perfect for picking up the blues in the quilt.

    1. Thanks! I am looking forward to finishing it off. On Sep 11, 2014 6:38 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. It’s gorgeous! I love the colours you’ve used too ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I like that i didn’t have to plan out the fabrics for every block and the colour scheme ties it together nicely. On Sep 14, 2014 10:02 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  8. I love it! Modern or not ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you! ๐Ÿ‘ On Sep 15, 2014 9:34 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

