A Millstone Goal

It’s a millstone around my neck, weighing me down, taking up room and stash fabric.

My nephew’s quilt. I started this in April 2013, following along with the Virtual Quilting Bee at Diary of a Quilter. When I told my sister, she said, you know he has a queen size bed, right? That’s a big quilt.

DSC_2002

Well, darn it, I’m the maker, and I decided that I can make any size quilt that I want. How many blocks have I done? 15 — let’s make it 16. Hey, it looks pretty good on point. What if I add some “B” alternate blocks using the Alphabetty fabric. Yep, that looks good.

Four A and a B block

DSC_2001

I think this will end up about 70″ square. So my Lovely Year of Finishes goal for September is to get this quilt top finished (and maybe I’ll give myself bonus points if it’s basted too). The entire quilt is on my Q3 Finish-A-Long list but…not so realistic.

Linking to Sew Bittersweet Designs, Design Wall Monday at Patchwork Times, and Sew Cute Tuesday at Blossom Heart Quilts.

My Buttonpatchwork times

7 comments

  1. Looking good so far. I first read your title as “milestone” until I saw it was around your neck. I guess it is a milestone along the way too. Queen is big!

    1. I have other quilts I could finish faster, but this one is really bothering me so I need to get it finished. Plus his birthday is next month.

  2. Good for you. Putting blocks on point is a great way to make a quilt bigger fast

    1. I cut out the setting triangles today so I need to get back at it. Gah, why is it pitch black at 8:15 now?

  3. Those colors are great. I’m tired of the same fabrics I’ve been using. Time to break out with new colors and styles of fabric….um, after I finish a gazillion UFO’s. HA!

    1. My nephew picked the colours, and the Tsuru FQ bundle was perfect! I think every quilt I make has had different colours, so I’m not bored yet.

  4. […] in order to allow my in-laws to visit this week, so I may not finish this top until next week. In my last post, I told you why this is no longer a queen size, but it looks like it will be about 73 inches […]

