A sweet doubleheader and a check-in

I finished up two more blocks for the Sugar Block Club block of the month. Once again, I procrastinated July’s block until August’s came out so that I could do two at the same time (I’ll say it is more efficient that way…). I changed out a couple of the main fabrics to match my one cardinal rule–not to sew together two fabrics the same.

Sugar Block Club for July

I feel I am having to force myself to use the green in my fabric pull, and yet these two blocks seem overly green. Maybe I’ll focus on turquoise and purple for the next two months.

Sugar Block Club for August.

It has been a lot cooler and rainier than normal in Ontario this summer, which means I’ve been able to get in a little more sewing than normal, with being inside being more pleasant than braving the monstrous mosquitoes in the garden. Unfortunately, this seems to mean another round of late blight for the tomatoes. This one is a Red Deuce, supposedly resistant to many of the diseases, firm–almost hard–and not nearly as flavourful as the heritage tomatoes we prefer.

Tomato with blight. Red Duece hybrid

I would like to say it was my daughter, but actually I have been anxiously waiting for the pumpkins to set fruit. Finally on Sunday I recognized this female flower and I hand pollinated it, from one of the numerous male flowers that we have, to help out the bees. Crossing my fingers, I’ll let you know how it goes.

Pumpkin flower (female) Hand pollinated on August 24

Linking up to Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts and Let’s Bee Social with Sew Fresh Quilt.s

16 comments

  1. The second is greener than the first, but the greens in the second are so different that they don’t feel like too much green to me. When I do a BOM sampler and am 3/4 finished, I lay them out to see what colors I need and let that guide the last 1/4 of the blocks. Sometimes I need to balance a block that is strong in one fabric, sometimes I need to balance a combination.

    1. Thank you for your advice! I’ll see what the next block is, and then I’ll go from there. I also am leaning towards adding 4 more to make a square quilt. On Aug 25, 2014 9:36 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. I’ve never done a sampler/BOM quilt but those two blocks don’t look too green to me. I really how the wispy/viney diamond fabric brings in several colors, like the magenta from the other block. Lovely!

    1. Thank you! I think I’m stressing too much at the moment about the colours, once they get grouped together I’m sure it will work out. The seaweed fabric is awesome at tying them together, I agree. On Aug 26, 2014 9:26 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Your blocks look great. I really like all the bold patterns.

    1. I think some of these, such as Augusts, would be fantastic as a whole quilt too. On Aug 26, 2014 11:43 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Well, I love green! Your blocks are gorgeous. I particularly like the way the text fabric pieces follow the direction of the text and your fussy cut centres too šŸ™‚

    1. Thanks! I may be slightly OCD about fussy cutting and having grain-lines line up when paper piecing, you may have noticed the seaweed is all going the same direction, lol. On Aug 27, 2014 5:15 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. I think they look fantastic Lisa! The second especially surprises me with how wonderfully the large print works!

  6. I love your use of Alison Glass’s fabric here. I love her designs, but I’m never sure how to incorporate them into my work.

    1. I think the colours in the sunprints are fantastic, they’re a tone on tone, and they work great in this patch work. On Aug 28, 2014 7:01 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. I like those two blocks and I personally think that the colors are well balance–even the green. šŸ˜‰ In fact, I think that you mixed the motifs beautifully!

    1. Thank you for your sweet comment! On Aug 28, 2014 2:23 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  8. Those two blocks look fabulous, Lisa. And I am a big fan of greens and blues. Nice piecework!

    1. I am having fun playing with the colours each month. September’s block is super easy, so I may actually get it done in September!

      On Tue, Sep 2, 2014 at 4:50 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  9. […] Welcome to hoppers from Blogathon Canada organized by Sew Sisters! I wanted to show you a little of what I’ve been working on and while, I was at it, I was musing about what style of quilter/sewer I am. Recently I have noted that I rarely follow a pattern exactly–it’s definitely much easier than making my own pattern, but I like to add my own spin, whether it’s adding a zipper pocket to my Forest Glen Satchel bag, or mixing and matching fabrics for a sampler quilt. […]

