Scrappy Colour block placemats

Rachel at Stitched in Color is running a series on using unloved fabrics. This project started with a package of 4″ squares I had won in a blog hop; a rainbow of batiks that, although lovely, had me scratching my head on how to use them.

Blue suede shoes

Blue Suede Shoes

One night, inspiration struck and I sorted them into 4 piles of 24 squares. I arranged each pile into 4 tall by 6 wide, trying to distribute the darker and lighter values evenly (although some got mixed up as I was sewing). I made up 4 patches, which I then trimmed to 6 1/2″ square.

Trim to 6 1/2" square

A few more minutes work and I had a finished placemat (12.5 x 18.5 inches). I still have to sew up the pink/purple one, then decide on backing, quilt, and finish these.

It's not easy being green

It’s not easy being green

This technique would be fantastic with strings or crumbs too, or perhaps you have leftover charm squares or HSTs from other projects which you can sew together. Keeping the colour families harmonious tricks the eye into just seeing the overall monochrome effect.

Linking to “The Purge” at Stitched in Color (not colour), and Sew Cute Tuesday at Blossom Heart Quilts.
the purge

7 comments

  1. Good idea…and makes for a colorful table, too šŸ™‚

    1. My daughter had already claimed the pinky purple for her own…I think the rainbow effect is going to look really cool. Stay tuned for a finish in a week or so! On Aug 27, 2014 7:31 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. Oh I do like those. They came out great! Any thoughts on the quilting? With the colors being so simple you could go any way with the quilt design.

    1. I’m thinking about doing feathers…since they’re just going to end up under a plate ā˜ŗ On Aug 28, 2014 11:00 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

    2. Cute! Can’t wait to see it all done!

  3. Nice use of those “head scratching” pieces! I bet you can pull backings from your stash too – got any random FQ laying around? šŸ™‚

    1. Oh definitely! I’m usually guilty of keeping bigger pieces just in case…

      On Sun, Aug 31, 2014 at 8:37 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

