Dreaming (Sunday Stash)

Just a quick post to say hi and show off some of the newest additions to my stash over the last few weeks. First up is 2 lovely Pretty Potent fat quarters from Mad About Patchwork, after my Pinwheel Stars baby quilt was featured on her blog series, Flickr Friday. I was flattered and pleased, there are some fantastic photos and quilts being picked each week.

Echinacea in Preppy and Eucalyptus in Jade

Echinacea in Preppy and Eucalyptus in Jade


Next I stopped by my local Shoppers Drug Mart (which is a chain carrying pharmacy, beauty supplies, shampoo, greeting cards, cookies…I guess it works) and picked up a copy of Fresh Quilts. Wow. $11.95 plus tax and worth every penny, there are some great patterns in there!
Fresh Quilts Issue 2
On the other hand I picked up these two magazines in the local thrift shop for fifty cents each (thanks Hilda). The samples in the pictures are made up in slightly more traditional fabrics, but I could see that there were some great ideas to build on in the modern fabrics I prefer. (I could have bought 10 or 12 issues, but I decided not to be greedy).
2010, and 2012

2010, and 2012


And why am I dreaming? I don’t know, I should be sewing but my sewjo is on vacation. I’m sure it will be back soon. Linking up to Molli Sparkles for Sunday Stash.

7 comments

  1. I almost picked up that $12 magazine last week but baulked at the price… I rarely use magazines, so I kept thinking it would just be a waste of money. But the stuff on the cover looks interesting… dunno. I’ll have to keep thinking about it, I guess 😀

    1. The cover quilt had a good walk through of the technique, there are some cute small projects, but I bought it for the paper pieced “feather your nest” pattern, it is a good deal if you compare to the price of buying 2 or more patterns separately. On Aug 17, 2014 1:40 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

    2. I guess I should flip through it one day and see. I do work in a store that sells it, so it’s not like that’d be too hard to do!

  2. Ideas take time to germinate; keep dreaming. 🙂

    1. Thank you, I will. On Aug 17, 2014 2:52 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Oh, I love Pretty Potent. I have some sitting awaiting the very most perfect pattern to use it.

    1. My AMH stash keeps accumulating, one day I’ll get to my dream quilt!

      On Mon, Aug 18, 2014 at 2:36 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

