A Tula Hula Kind of Day

I have so much fun making cute clothes for my daughter to wear. And I think she is starting to appreciate the effort I make, and likes to participate as much as she can. She fixated on this Tula Pink Birds and Bees fabric from my Pink Castle fabrics secret stash bundle, and fortunately I was able to squeak out these Sunny Day shorts from 1/2 yard by placing the back pattern piece on the fabric upside down relative to the front. (The pattern tells you to lay them out in the same direction, or “with nap”, which I normally always try to do, but I figured the pattern is busy enough to not show.)

Size 5 Sunny Days shorts 2014 #shortsontheline #pinkcastlefabrics

I added the pockets with a curved cut-out, but as there would not have been enough fabric for matching pockets, I found this Allison Glass Sunprints in lipstick red which matched well (coincidentally, also from Pink Castle).

I like that the waistband is cut out separately, it gives it a clean finish and looks more professional, somehow, than just folding over the waistband. I forgot to edgestitch the top edge but it seems ok. I also added 1/2″ to the leg length, and also decreased the hem depth, and the resultant knee-length in my opinion is the perfect length for shorts to protect her legs from scratches and sun exposure. These would be cute even longer with cargo pockets.

Sunny Days shorts with sunprints pockets

I read a lot of blogs–far too many–and one of the tips I read recently about getting good photos talked about letting the child just play and be herself. Well, it worked fantastically to let her play with the hula hoop. There’s no way I would have asked her to pose, but by snapping 50 photos (literally), I took several good shots.

Sunny Day shorts size 5 from Tula Pink the Birds and the Bees #pinkcastlefabrics #oliverands #tulapink

And the mismatched socks? I did that on purpose one day, and now every day has to be mismatched. Since I do most of the laundry, that’s okay by me.

I’m linking this post up to Shorts on the Line, hosted at Kollabora by Rachel of Imagine Gnats.

shorts on the line

6 comments

  1. Adorable shorts, pics, socks, & post!

    1. I agree she’s adorable, although I’m a bit biased 🙂

  2. love that fabric – great job!!! have you moved your blog? 🙂 or redesigned it?

    1. Thank you Laura! I tweak the sidebar regularly, and have added the instagram widget, but the free WordPress hosting works pretty good for me.

      >

  3. How adorable!!!!! The shorts are cute too 🙂 Well done Mom!

    1. Thanks! On Aug 5, 2014 8:42 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

