Pinwheels Star Quilt is Done

I have been working every day on this quilt, to get it done in time to enter in the Modern Quilt Guild fabric challenge. And I finished it, by the skin of my teeth. And it’s fabulous, if I do say so myself!

Pinwheels star baby quilt Lisa in Port Hope

Some of the characteristics of modern quilting — use of grey as a neutral, large amounts of negative space, and free motion quilting it myself on a domestic machine. Check. These were all new things to me to try, and I enjoyed making this quilt, and learned a lot in the process. Is it perfect? No, but I’m sure the baby won’t care (coming soon for the administrative assistant for my department and her husband).

Pinwheels Star baby quilt

I did large feathers in a chevron pattern, only marking the turning point. The good thing about feathers is they’re supposed to be organic, so having size differences and uneven stitches really doesn’t look bad. Other sections received loops, or pebbles, or this really cool flower I put in the corners.

pinwheels star quilting detailPinwheels star Lisa in Port Hope

Finished size 42″ x 42″
Fabrics, Petal Pinwheels from Michael Miller, Kona Iron and Coal, Northcott yellow, Michael Miller Stitch Circle on the back.

This a new label technique to me and it went speedily. I cut a 5″ square of the Kona Iron, folded it in half, and used the embroidery letters in my machine to write the label (last name smudged for privacy). I then stitched it in place even with the raw edge and added the binding.

label for Pinwheels quilt
Lastly, I’m pleased to say this is my first finish of Q3, from the Finish-A-Long hosted by Katy at The Littlest Thistle (see goal-setting post here). Also linking to TGIFF at Quokka Quilts and Finish it up Friday with Crazy Mom Quilts.

tgiff

21 comments

  1. Hurray for a finish! I love that fabric line and that quilting!

    1. Thank you for stopping by to visit!

  2. I love seeing what everyone is making with the challenge, yours is lovely

    1. I agree, it’s amazing the diversity of projects. I can’t wait to see the final 10!

  3. It really is fabulous, gorgeous colours that compliment each other so well and I love the personalisation on the baby quilt 🙂

    1. I will use that label technique again, it’s much faster than hand embroidery 🙂

  4. This is wonderful! I love the fabrics and layout. Nice quilting. Thanks for sharing … 🙂 Pat

    1. I loved doing the feathers, I will be using them again. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. This quilt is fabulous Lisa. Great work on the quilting…very impressive. Congratulations on your first 3rd quarter finish.

    1. I really enjoyed trying out some new techniques and I may have buy some more Kona iron, it’s a great background. On Jul 25, 2014 5:15 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. Lovely! The quilting is great!

    1. Thank you for coming to visit and leaving a comment!

      On Fri, Jul 25, 2014 at 7:38 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  7. Oh that’s awesome! is it a pattern or did you make it up yourself? Hey, your quilting is great! You could totally brave contrasting threads!

    1. The pieced center is from a pattern named Wyoming Star, and the outer triangles echo the parts of the star. Thanks for the compliment!

  8. I agree with you, it IS fabulous – well done!

    1. Thank you!

      On Sat, Jul 26, 2014 at 8:14 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  9. […] quilting in the negative space has me swooning.  So there’s no surprise that this great Pinwheels Star Baby Quilt by Lisa in Port Hope is this week’s Flickr Friday winner. Congratulations, […]

  10. I loved seeing the start of this…the finish is indeed fabulous!!!!!

    1. Isn’t that the fun thing about the online community, seeing our projects develop and finish!

  11. thelittlestthistle · ·

    Love the quilting, congrats on the finish!

  12. […] Pinwheels Star finish Triangle jewels finish […]

