A Smallish Make

Along with my quilting activities this month I decided that my daughter needed another summer hat, using the free pattern from Oliver +S. She picked out the fabrics–pink of course–and was thrilled to wear it after I finished it late one evening. It is small-ish because I graded it up from the largest size on the pattern, increasing both the depth of the sides and the diameter, and as you can see it fits her quite well. I think she has inherited her dad’s big head (more room for brains).

Oliver + S bucket hat for Sidney

Oliver + S bucket hat for Sidney

Oliver + S bucket hat reverse

Oliver + S bucket hat reverse

Another task I’ve started is clearing up my photos on my hard drive. I have digital pictures going back to 2005, and do I really need 400 shots of the progress of our renovations? I’m trying to sort them by location/theme, as well as by date. At this rate, I should be finished by Christmas J. Do you have any recommendations for photo storage/editing software?

So in case you’re a bit hot, remember that day in February when it was -20 C? (that’s -4F).

Lake Kashagawigamog Feb 2014 web

According to my photos, all I did in February was make a tote bag, go to the aquarium, and go to our timeshare cottage.

mqg backaquarium feb 2014

Linking up to Le Challenge for this month’s theme of Small, and Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts. Have a great week!

 photo LeChalleng
10 comments

  1. I was looking for a pattern for that hat for my son! And here it is! Looks lovely on your daughter, thanks for participating in le challenge.

    1. I do actually have the book too “Little Things to Sew” but the pdf pattern is more convenient than tracing out the pattern pieces. I used a lightweight interfacing on the side with the birds. On Jul 15, 2014 3:38 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. Your little girl looks adorable in that hat 🙂

    1. Thank you! On Jul 15, 2014 5:54 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. emmajones1972 · ·

    Such a sweet hat! I really like the tote bag too.

    1. I use the tote bag for swim gear on a regular basis. On Jul 16, 2014 11:26 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Too funny, my daughter has a big head too, I just had to let out a few of her tops, cause I couldn’t get them over her head. cute hat.

    1. How nice that we can sew! thanks for visiting! On Jul 16, 2014 3:29 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. That is adorable! I made a couple for my kids a while ago and they still look good, it’s a great pattern. No tips on the photos, sorry and good luck! Thanks for linking up to le challenge 🙂

    1. It’s a great pattern and much more well made than a purchased hat, I think. On Jul 16, 2014 3:42 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

