The third quarter finish-a-long

Here I go again. Last quarter, I finished one of my projects. I also started a few. Which I shouldn’t have. I’m still trying to resist quilt-alongs because I really want to get some projects Done! But alas, I must confess that I started two quilts that are now on this quarter’s list.

I took some new pictures for you. In order of my plan of attack:

Star baby quilt for Modern Quilt Guild Fabric challenge, due July 23. I’ve been hesitating on the quilting but I’m running out of time.
MQGfabric challenge July 9 web

Triangle Quilt-Along which was hosted by Paula at The Sassy Quilter. Just a little quilting to finish. Fortunately my friend’s baby is not due for a few months.
Triangle QAL July 9 status

Molli Sparkles Broken Herringbone Quilt-Along (are you seeing a trend here with quilt alongs creating these unfinished projects?), just needs borders, quilting, and binding.
Rainbow Broken Herringbone

Abbey jacket for my daughter, hoping she can get some wear out of this in the fall. This is a cute fleece velour. I cut this out for Kid’s Clothes week but I was over ambitious.
fabric cut for abbey jacket

Paparazzi bag for me using this yummy fat quarter bundle of Joel Dewberry’s Botanique. I’m planning to make panels out of strips for the front and back, use larger pieces for the pockets, and I have some True Colors Herringbone for the lining.
botanique for paparazzi bag

Twin quilt for my niece–at least I should be able to get this pieced
Refracted quilt blocks

Queen quilt for my nephew from the Virtual Quilting Bee last year at Diary of a Quilter–ditto. It would be nice to give them these for Christmas. If I suddenly have 3 weeks off work or other magic free time.
VQB #9

I’m tired already.

Linking up to Katie at the Littlest Thistle and Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts for Let’s Bee Social.

22 comments

  1. Your list is impressive : ) Good luck with all your projects. I’m just getting my list organized : )

    1. I love them all, but I’ll be happy with just getting two or three done. On Jul 10, 2014 12:54 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. Love the bright pink quilt for your niece!

    1. I love pink with yellow, and the charcoal makes it a more mature palette. On Jul 10, 2014 1:51 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Love your modern quilt! Some nice blank spaces for some lovely quilting!

    1. Yes, I want to try some extensive free motion quilting. Stay tuned!

      >

  4. Wow that’s a lot of UFOs! Good luck!

    1. I like having lots on the go and I love the push that the finish-a-long gives get them done. On Jul 10, 2014 4:42 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. Good luck with your projects; you’re certainly planning on doing a lot of sewing.

    1. I think “hoping” is the word πŸ™‚ On Jul 10, 2014 5:25 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. That’s a long list. I really like your broken herringbone – lovely colours – and the Abby jacket is so cute I might have to get the pattern and make one too πŸ™‚

  7. What a list. Good luck! Love your challenge quilt with all that open space for quilting designs. And the block for your nephew, is that a sampler or are all the blocks going to be the same? I really like it!

    1. My nephews quilt is a sampler, I’ve got some ideas for finishing it but I need to concentrate on it and finish up the rest of the blocks.. like everything else! On Jul 10, 2014 11:35 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  8. WOW! I think the Star Baby Quilt and the Broken Herringbone are still my favorites πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see the jacket though – it looks super cute! Amazing work as usual. I Love your colour choices.

    1. Thanks Sherri! I love playing with the pretty fabrics!
      >

  9. Those are some mighty pretty quilt along quilts. They make we want to join a quilt along….but my ufo list is already really long. Good luck with your projects.

    1. These quilt alongs are so tempting because they make such beautiful quilts! On Jul 10, 2014 6:33 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  10. I am sure hoping you will accomplish the quilting for the Michael Miller baby quilt in time for the challenge, Lisa. You have done such a wonderful job of the design. And from there on, just think of each project one at a time. Too much at once can be overwhelming. They are all such lovely projects!

    1. thanks for being such a great cheerleader, Lorna! On Jul 10, 2014 10:50 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  11. Lovely projects. Good luck!

  12. […] this is my first finish of Q3, from the Finish-A-Long hosted by Katy at The Littlest Thistle (see goal-setting post here). Also linking to TGIFF at Quokka Quilts and Finish it up Friday with Crazy Mom […]

  13. […] the dryer right now to get wonderfully crinkled. You can go see some of my earlier photos here and here, and I’ll get a better finished shot once I can take it outside. This will be a baby gift for […]

