The Halfway Point

Halfway through the year that is. I was thinking I haven’t done a ton of sewing in June but actually I’ve done quite a bit. Blocks for May and June in the Sugar Block Club are done.
June Sugar Block ClubMay Sugar Block Club
I made a bucket hat (free pattern here) for my daughter with a pair of shorts in progress.
And my Modern Quilt Guild challenge is basted and ready to quilt.

Oliver + S bucket hat

Oliver + S bucket hat

IMG_20140624_231416
Baby quilt for MQG fabric challenge

Baby quilt for MQG fabric challenge


With the hot weather here, my sewing production may slow down, but I have enough things in progress to keep me going until October or so. I have picked up my hand quilting once again; it is very relaxing while sitting in the shade in the backyard.
butterfly hand quilting July 1 2014
Do you change your crafting pursuits in the summer? Linking to Fresh Sewing Day at Lily’s Quilts and Sew Cute Tuesday at Blossom Heart Quilts.
Lily's Quilts

8 comments

  1. I’ve seen those bucket hats. They don’t look too hard. And what fun to use cute fabric 🙂

    1. Joining the top to the side can be a bit finicky, but they turn out so cute it is definitely worth it! I added the link to the free pattern to my post.

  2. Love your sugar blocks–the colours are great. I was in Port Hope last weekend and found it such a pretty town. Lots to see and do!

    1. Thank you, you remind me that sometimes I need to be a tourist in my own town and enjoy the sights! On Jul 2, 2014 11:02 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. I love reviewing a month and realizing I have accomplished more than I thought!
    Love that pic with the new hat, shorts will be so cute with it 🙂

    1. She loves wearing the clothes I make for her, especially this one because she could pick out the fabrics. On Jul 2, 2014 11:20 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. I love that baby quilt, it’s stunning!

    1. Thank you, now just to get it quilted! On Jul 6, 2014 4:39 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

