Bam! Pillow — TGIFF

I dabble in a lot of different techniques, but I love paper piecing for the precision and creativity. Last June, I offered to pattern test one of the lego heroes patterns that Kristy at Quiet Play was putting together for a quilt for her son (the theme morphed a bit along the way). The mask was a real challenge, so I actually redrafted one side to see if I could make it easier (I’m a rebel, what can I say). At the end he turned out pretty cute.
robin pillow front june 2014 web
In case you can’t tell, this is Robin, from the original TV Batman series, which my sister and I used to watch in reruns after school (I think I’m dating myself, here). I used Kona Evergreen and Coral for the shirt, the mask is Kona Nautical, and the face is quilter’s muslin. The hair is Essex black linen/cotton, and the background is Kona curry.

One hint I have for sewing this together is to hand baste pieces which absolutely have to line up, such as the two halves of the mask (and it would be even better if I had hand basted in matching thread so I didn’t have to fight to remove it).

For quilting, I stitched in the ditch around Robin’s face and shoulders, and also between the grey frame and navy of the pillow. I used my brand new spool of Aurifil black (from Massdrop) and traced lines to look like hair, and did a wood grain pattern in the background with a matching Gutermann polyester thread.
quilting detail robin pillow web
I then did a free motion pattern on the navy text fabric (from the Architextures line) of spiky stars like was used on the TV show graphics, plus a bat signal. Here, I’ll show you the back so you can see it. The backing here is a thrifted sheet–it worked great and I got the whole sheet for a dollar. Batting is Warm and Natural.
backside of robin pillow front
Finally I finished off the pillow with a zipper closure and this great “Spot On” polka dot fabric from Robert Kaufman. Technically this is a Christmas present–from last year. Oops. My nephew liked it, so that’s what is important. Finished size is 15″ by 23″ (to fit the Ikea 16″x24″ pillow).
robin pillow back june 2014
Linking up to Paper Piecing Friday with Quiet Play, I Quilt with Pretty Bobbins, and TGIFF! Hop over and say hi!
i quiltquiet playtgiff

7 comments

  1. that is so awesome! šŸ™‚

    1. Thank you for your sweet comment. On Jun 26, 2014 10:44 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. How clever! I love seeing the quilting on the back….it looks great!

    1. The spiky stars were pretty difficult to see while I was quilting, so I was pleased to turn the top over and see how well they worked myself!

  3. Ha, that is so cute …

    1. Pillows are such a quick satisfactory finish!

  4. I remember that show too… Great job with the piecing and the quilting, Lisa! My kids would love to have one of these pillows — your nephew is ‘super’ lucky! he he

