Vintage machine love

So first Erin at Sew at Home Mummy was showing off her new/old toy. Then Melissa. And don’t forget Christine.
While perusing Kijiji one day, I saw a old machine for sale. Even for the measly price of $25 however, it was a 100 km (60 miles) round trip. But when my husband the next day suggested a drive to that area, I knew that machine was fated to be mine.
wpid-wp-1398256614883.jpeg
I was excited by the accessories. It smelled a bit musty, but the cabinet is in good shape for a gal of 64. I cleaned her up, digging years of lint from under the bobbin and feed dogs, and oiling her as directed in the original manual which was included.

Original manual and pressure feet

Original manual and pressure feet


wpid-wp-1398256288537.jpeg
I was eager to start using her, but when I plugged her in I could smell something burning. I then realized that the wiring to the light was melted.
wpid-wp-1398256389174.jpeg
I decided not to risk reusing the motor with potentially damaged wiring, so I ordered a new one off eBay. I hand cranked her through a few stitches and she’s going fine, but I need to pick up some wire for the light before I get her running.
From the serial number, she’s a 99k which is the 3/4 size of the Singer 66. I’m looking forward to using her for piecing and eventually teaching my daughter to sew.
Linking up to Sunday Stash with Molli Sparkles (hosted this week by Handmade by Mary Emmens) and Let’s Bee Social with Sew Fresh Quilts

20 comments

  1. ooohhhh.. i love the look of vintage Singer sewing machine.. my mom has one and she still uses it.. it has those leg paddling one.. which unfortunately, I’m not that smart to control it.. LOL.. happy sewing. šŸ˜‰

    1. I would have liked to try the knee pedal but the new motor came with a foot pedal so I’ll probably just use that.

  2. Oh I dream of getting a vintage Singer. I don’t have the space where I live now but once I do, I’ll get one!
    My aunt has one, she swears by it for repairing zips on her jeans (she has a modern machine that isn’t tough enough for the job!)

    1. Actually it was nice that she came with a table because I wouldn’t have had anywhere to put it otherwise.

    1. Absolutely positively!

  3. Such a brilliant addition to your stash! Love it, hope that you get her up and running soon. Thanks for linking up

    1. She would be running now, except I would rather sew when I have a free minute than do wiring šŸ™‚

  4. Very nice! Looks like it would be fun to play with. šŸ™‚

    1. It’s amazing to watch the mechanism, how precise it is. I’m looking forward to getting her going!

  5. Congratulations on the great find! I have my Mother in Law’s old machine…used it for years…I may just have to get it out and give it a good cleaning….. šŸ™‚

    1. The lint was packed under the mechanism, but it still worked!

  6. terri414cb · ·

    Bee-you-ti-ful! You’re going to have so much fun. I have a small “collection” or I have a few vintage machines. I love them because they are workhorses…anything that can last several decades is meant to stay! All I have to do now is keep from buying more! There is no room in our house for what we have as it is. Passed by a beautiful Red Eye Singer for a reasonable price. Hurt my heart. It is on my bucket wishlist for machines!

    1. Far better to save it lest it be sent to the scrapyard! I get what you say, it will be tough to pass up the next one .. .

  7. Lovely! I must, however, caution you that vintage machines are like stray cats… start feeding one and the word gets out. Soon you may find yourself with nine like I have! Seriously though, looks like a lovely machine!

    1. I learned to sew on my mom’s old Singer, they just keep going and going!

  8. What a nice addition! Such a lovely machine. Hope you can get her all fixed up and are able to have many years of use from this beauty, Lisa!

    1. I like having a backup and I love the connection to history that these old machines have.

  9. I received a 99 in an exchange for 2 of my hens. I got the better end of the deal. I love mine!!!!

    1. I think I would agree with you!

