Not much sewing, but having fun about town

Father’s Day was Sunday, so I suggested that we go out on the boat to enjoy the sun and nice weather. It was very busy at the boat launch, with cottagers bringing in their boats for the first time this season, but we got off fairly quickly and toured around. We had to stop again on shore to use the facilities, which of course led to checking out the playground equipment. (I made Sidney’s bucket hat last year, from the free Oliver + S tutorial).

Bewdley June 15

Bewdley June 15

Back on the boat again, we observed some ospreys fishing, then saw this helicopter arrive. Fortunately I had brought my DSLR with the zoom lens, so I kept snapping pictures as we moved closer. Can you see what he’s doing?
helicopter
Ok, how about now?
Search and Rescue Exercise June 15 Rice Lake
This seems to have been a training exercise out of the Canadian Forces base in Trenton–it makes sense to me, Rice Lake was 70 degrees, Lake Ontario is probably still only 60, where would you rather go?

Next we saw this little guy enjoying his lunch. He looks well fed, don’t you agree?
racoon june 15
And to leave you with some quilty yumminess, my weathervane bee blocks have started to arrive. That counts as a WIP, even if I didn’t make most of them, doesn’t it?
June 14 status - looking yummy!
Linking up to Let’s Bee Social with Sew Fresh Quilts and WIP Wednesday with Freshly Pieced.
wip wednesdaysew fresh quilts

9 comments

  1. Like the bucket hat… and raccoon! The weathervane blocks look great!

    1. They were so cute in their camo. On 2014-06-18 10:11 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. How fun! Those bee blocks with the tea rose centers…this will be so good!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I love getting bee blocks, it’s like my birthday all month! On 2014-06-19 9:07 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Great pictures, Lisa! How nice that you had a chance to enjoy some family time out on the lake. That little pesky raccoon sure is a cutie. The weathervane block is one of my all time favourites. What are your plans for those? They sure are pretty!

  4. What great shots, Lisa. How nice that you got a chance to enjoy the lake with your family. That pesky raccoon sure is a cutie. The weathervane block is one of my all time favourites. What are your plans for those? They sure are pretty!

    1. Raccoons in the wild are ok, raccoons in my garden not so good…I think I’m going to sash the weathervane blocks with white and make a summery lap quilt. On 2014-06-19 10:51 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. I’m loving being outside again too! The blocks are so pretty.

    1. It’s beautiful today again, have a great day!

      On Sun, Jun 22, 2014 at 3:41 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

