Being a Modern Quilter – The Continuing Saga

My challenge project for the summer Modern Quilt Guild fabric challenge is getting close to completion–well, the top is, at least. After auditioning Kona Iron, Coal, and Ash, I decided to use the Kona Iron as my background fabric. This pattern is mostly based on the centre of a quilt called Wyoming Star, which was designed by Vicki Lynn Oehlke of Willowberry Lane. This will finish at 42 inches square.
Almost done the mqg challenge quilt.  Background is kona iron
Lesson learned number 1–plan out your cutting before you start cutting–because I got to the last round of the quilt and realized I didn’t have big enough pieces to finish it off. This is serendipity of course because I decided to add pinwheels in each corner of the quilt, and that’s what I’m finishing up tonight.
Corner blocks for mqg challenge quilt
Lesson number 2–a yard seems like a lot but it’s not when it comes to backgrounds (see also Lesson number 1). (I actually had a one yard cut and another half yard cut for this.)

I am looking forward to using the negative space on the top for free motion quilting on my domestic machine, which is am important element of what may constitute modern quilting. I say “may”, because I think it is important to not get limited by other people’s definitions. Some people say only improvisational piecing is modern, for example. Read this post on the MQG site for a list of techniques which “may” characterize modern quilting.

Linking up to Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts and Lets Bee Social at Sew Fresh Quilts.

12 comments

  1. I so agree that “modern quilting” is a flexible and evolving thing. I find myself wondering if quilters of other eras were as self-consciously becoming something new. I know quilt historians can find similar features among quilts of a 25 year period or of an area, but were they “in the air” or was there a conscious following as we see today in the modern movement.

  2. This is beautiful. I love the colours you’ve chosen and the design. I would love to create a quilt that I’ve designed myself.

    1. The iterative design and creativity process makes quilting so very appealing to me. You should go for it! On 2014-06-11 10:47 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Wow that is so beautiful. I can’t wait to see how you are going to quilt it up with all that space.

    1. I have a couple of ideas, I will be basting this top this weekend… On 2014-06-12 7:45 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Such a striking design, Lisa! Looking forward to seeing your finish!

    1. Thank you Lorna, these have been fun fabrics to work with! On 2014-06-12 9:38 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. Very pretty. I’ve definitely been reminded of lesson two quite a few times.

    1. I hope I bought enough backing. I may have some creative piecing going on there too 🙂 On 2014-06-12 11:13 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. I love your corner pinwheels! And the centre is amazing! In excited to see what you do with the quilting.

  7. I love your corner pinwheels! And the centre is amazing! I’m excited to see what you do with the quilting.

    1. Thanks Sherri! The nice thing about the challenge deadline is that I can’t spend too much time planning this out, I need to get at it! On Jun 14, 2014 7:31 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

