Weathervane Block (a tutorial)

Welcome to summer with the month of June and a bee block for me. I saw this block back in March and decided immediately it would be the perfect bee block for the Canadians Quilt {Bee}. There seem to be a couple of variations of it around too, but this is how it is shown in my 1,000 Any Size Quilt Blocks Book.
Weathervane block - June
For my version (12-1/2 inches), you will need 4 fabrics:
(1) 4-1/2″ square (A) (this is what I sent to my bee mates)
(4) 4-1/2″ square (B)
(4) 2-1/2″ square (C)
(4) 3″ square (C)
(12) 2-1/2″ square (D)
(4) 3″ square (D)
(CQB members–think of bright summer colours–the 3 fabrics can be any combo such as coral, pink, yellow, candy green, aqua, blue, periwinkle, purple. My A and D were similar colours, but this block also looks great with A being similar to either B or C, or different altogether.)
Weathervane block fabrics and cutting
Make 4 “house” units:
1. Mark a diagonal line on the back of (8) 2-1/2″ sq D units.House unit with marked line
2. Place 2-1/2″ square D on the corner of B, stitch slightly inside the diagonal line (I put the left side of the slot in my foot on the marked line). Sew for stitch and flip method
3. Press fabric to right side and clip excess beyond the seam allowance.
4. Repeat on the adjacent corner to make (4) house blocks.second step of house unit

Make 8 HST
5. Mark a diagonal line on the back of (4) 3″ squares (either C or D, whichever is easier to see).
6. Pin C and D 3″ square together and stitch 1/4″ on either side of marked line.
7. Cut apart on marked line, press seams open, and trim to 2-1/2″ square.
Making HST
Make 4-patches
8. Using 2 HST, 1 D 2-1/2″ square, and 1 C 2-1/2″ square, sew into a 4-patch and check that it finishes at 4-1/2″. Press seams open.
4-patch for weathervane block
Complete assembly
9. Arrange units as shown in a 9-patch and stitch together. Press seams as desired.

Linking also to Fabric Frenzy Friday with FWFS.

Fort Worth Fabric Studio Blog
9 comments

  1. Thank you for providing a tutorial, its a design I really want to try so Im sure it will help massively 🙂

    1. You’re welcome, let me know if you have any questions.

    2. Thank you, much appreciated 🙂

  2. The Sassy Quilter · ·

    Love this combo of fabrics!

    1. I actually made this block in March, but I agree the colours are perfect for this sunny weather, and for the feel of this quilt. On 2014-06-01 1:06 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Lisa, do we need 12 – 2/5″ D squares, or only 4?

    1. ….never mind. 🙂

  4. […] 1. Canadians Quilt Bee Block June – Lisa in Port Hope asked us to make this block. She had sent us the Center square and asked us to pair it with summer colours. Here’s my […]

  5. […] lunch. He looks well fed, don’t you agree? And to leave you with some quilty yumminess, my weathervane bee blocks have started to arrive. That counts as a WIP, even if I didn’t make most of them, […]

