Quilt Blocks in progress (WIP Wednesday)

Back from the cottage, back to work, back to the sewing machine. I have made this scrappy star for the Modern Quilt Guild fabric challenge using Kona Iron. This will be the centre of a baby size quilt. My personal challenge for this round is:
1. use all the fabrics (ok, I’ve done that)
2. something with lots of negative space for free motion quilting (next step)

scrappy star

scrappy star

 

If you enjoy fabric challenges, and you are in the US or Canada, you may want to head over to Thread Riding Hood for a chance to win 6 fat quarters to sew into something fabulous.
TRH challenge
Before I went away I sewed up these super curved log cabin blocks for Carly for May in the Canadians Quilt Bee. It was my first time for curved seams in quilt blocks (although I’ve made lots of garments with them) so while I was on a roll I made two. Carly is planning on adding another round of her background and squaring then up, but they would also work to applique onto a background. My month for this bee is June so I will have a tutorial up on Saturday (wait, what happened to May?).
May bee blocks for Carly

I am doing a few stitches every day on the binding for my Easy Street quilt, hopefully it will be done soon.

The last corner of the binding -- keeping it handy to where I spend lots of time :)

The last corner of the binding — keeping it handy to where I spend lots of time 🙂

Linking to WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced.

15 comments

  1. Thanks so much for the shout out on the Fabric Challenge Lisa! And I LOVE your scrappy star fabric. It’s beautiful!

    1. I’ll be cheering on the participants in the fabric challenge, but I am too busy in June to join in, one thing being completing this baby quilt! Thanks for the compliment!

  2. Michele Timms · ·

    Wow! I love those curved log cabin blocks… What a neat idea, I’m wondering how you will join them! Please share your progress!

    1. The curved log cabins are for Carly, she blogs at http://citricsugar.blogspot.ca if you want to find out!

  3. That scrappy star is fabulous!

    1. I had a lot of fancy dreams for this quilt, but in the end it will be somewhat traditional. There are 3 people in my department at work having babies this year so I know it will be able to go to a good home.

      :

      >

  4. I love your scrappy star, the fabrics work perfectly together 🙂

    1. Thanks! The prints that were sent for the challenge just evoke summer, don’t they! On 2014-05-29 8:42 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

    2. they really do 🙂

  5. I do like what you did with the challenge fabrics. I love this particular batch and am hoping I have time to put something together when I get back from family visiting.

    1. It took me a long time to decide on what I wanted to do, but fortunately it also took a long time to get the fabrics, and I’m pretty pleased with how it’s looking so far.

      On Thu, May 29, 2014 at 5:35 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  6. I’ve seen those curved log cabins and I was wondering how you could use them. Yours are really good.

    1. i love how bees challenge me to make blocks I wouldn’t otherwise choose.

  7. You have certainly been busy! Love love love the colors in your scrappy star!!!

    1. The fabrics were part of the challenge, so I can’t take credit for the colours, but I do agree that the kona iron is setting them off well and I’m having a lot of fun piecing this. Thanks for stopping by!

