Hand made label

It’s Victoria Day here, the official start to summer and barbeque season, a long weekend which can be extremely busy with yard work to get ready for the growing season.   Fortunately, it’s also one of our allocated weeks for our cottage, so some hand stitching and enforced idleness is in order.  I’m not complaining.
Tonight I was able to sit on the front porch until it got too dark to see, working on the quilt label for my daughter’s Easy Street quilt.   I marked lines 3/4″apart with my not-air-erasable frixion pen, then added the text and am using 2 strands of DMC floss and a simple chain stitch to embroider it.

image

Label at beginning of evening

image

Label at dusk

The fabric is the off white Fabricland solid from the top with a 4″ x 5″ rectangle of medium-weight interfacing to back it.

image

Back of label

The binding is taking me a lot longer than I anticipated because the carpal tunnel repetitive strain syndrome in my right wrist is flaring up, although the embroidery isn’t bothering me that much.  I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll be done sometime this week however.
I’ll leave you with a couple of pretty shots of Ontario wildflowers and my view as I was stitching away.

image

White trillium Haliburton

image

Jack in the Pulpit

wpid-dsc_1031.jpg

Linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday at Blossom Heart Quilts and Let’s Bee Social at Sew Fresh Quilts.

8 comments

  1. When I see post about label it always makes me think I should make some too. Nice wildflowers!

    1. One day someone may want to know who made this quilt, a label is a small effort to keep that little bit of history.

  2. Sorry to hear that your wrist is giving you trouble, Lisa. Do you ever wear a brace for it? The label looks great. And Sidney will appreciate all the love that has gone into making it and that gorgeous Easy Street quilt. Thanks for sharing the great shots of the flora!

    1. I have an ergonomic mouse at work and generally choose ergonomic tools (i.e. my gardening tools), but I’m not sure why the binding is causing me so much trouble. My sister had the carpal tunnel RSI surgery which makes me know that I never want to have to do that. I have switched to a longer needle which is helping somewhat.

  3. what a wonderful label- take it easy on that wrist!

    1. Thank you! I got a little more of the binding done today.

  4. Hello Lisa,

    Well done for getting the label stitched when you have a bad wrist. It is always worth adding the personal touch to a quilt.

    Lovely flowers, especially the striped jack-in-the -pulpit. We have them here, but in boring plain green.

    Love from England,
    Muv

    1. Thank you for visiting and leaving a sweet comment. I hope this quilt is loved for many years to come. On May 23, 2014 3:39 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

