Ready, set, quilt!

I am so glad that it’s the last day of March.  It means that spring, and flowers, and warm temperatures are almost here.  But on the other hand, it means that my Q1 goals for the Finish-A-Long must be almost completed. 

March snowdropsMarch 24, 2013, they’re not up yet this year

Wishful thinking.

But seriously, knowing that I set this goal for myself has (mostly) kept me on track with progressing toward a finish. On Saturday, I basted my daughter’s quilt, Easy Street (pattern by Bonnie Hunter), with over 300 pins.  On Sunday, I set up my sewing space for free motion quilting (FMQ). The sewing machine is on my cutting table, I have a taller chair, and I have the foot pedal on a plastic shoe box (fabric storage box). And my phone is ready to provide the tunes.
fmq setup march 30
Stippling is the easiest to do on this large quilt.  I had a number of places where the seam allowance doesn’t want to lie flat, I have gone over them with the stitching and will cross my fingers. In the B squares, I have attempted a custom quilting design.  Fortunately the Aurifil light pink I am using is blending quite well. 
this one worked pretty well
FMQing some hearts

Cheer me on to get this finished! Linking up to Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts and Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts Let’s Bee Social.
Sew Cute Tuesday

11 comments

  1. Way to go! I haven’t tackled larger quilts yet…

  2. Wow, you go!! Looks like you have a good set up for quilting. 🙂

    1. I’m learning as I go! On Mar 31, 2014 10:23 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Wow, I’m impressed with your quilting. You go girlfriend!

  4. Great set-up!! Lovely quilt! Go for it!! You’re on a roll!! Good luck!

  5. Yeah Lisa! You have a great set up there. And your quilting is looking fab! You can do it!

    1. I really want to quilt my quilts myself, I think it’s a big part of the creative process.

      >

  6. jacqui.sibthorpe · ·

    Lovely, lovely fabrics you have there!

    1. Thank you, it turned out very pretty once all put together and I’m really looking forward to many years of snuggles.

      On Wed, Apr 2, 2014 at 12:16 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  7. Looks like your quilting is really coming along! This is going to be fantastic, finished 😀

    1. Thanks for the encouragement! On 2014-04-03 9:07 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

