Happy birthday to me and you (a giveaway)

**Giveaway now closed**

Well, I’m not going to tell you exactly when my birthday is (but it’s in April), but this story starts a few weeks ago when I was musing that I was mostly buying blender type fabrics, and having a hard time finding multicoloured prints that I really liked. And I had just got Instagram on my smart phone, and discovered pop-up sales! Really! Must have!
botanique march 8
And therefore I ended up with a half-yard bundle of Botanique by Joel Dewberry from the lovely Jenn at Knotted Thread. In person, some of the prints I love (and I mean *love*), some are nice blenders, and they’re definitely all classy.

My favourites, especially the teal.

My favourites, especially the teal.


Would you like to share? As a birthday present for me, and you, I will split this bundle.

But what to make with them? Can you help? I am considering the paparazzi bag from Sew Sweetness or another 241 tote (Noodlehead), or mixing into my nephew’s quilt. In between petting this fabric, and other projects, I have started adding corners to my Virtual Quilting Bee blocks. These colours were requested by my nephew, but I’m kinda burned out on these (some of the blocks had really odd measurements), so I’m going to see what I have, add some square-in-square economy blocks, and see if I can make it up to a full size quilt.
VQB #5VQB #9VQB #12
Leave a comment–perhaps about my choices above, whether you’ve ever made them, or another pattern you suggest–and let me know if you would like half of the bundle as half-yards, or your split as fat-quarters, and I will draw a name on April 3. (International entries welcome).

Thank you all for visiting and being part of the on-line sewing community. Linking up with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts.

24 comments

  1. I’ve been eyeing off this line but haven’t taken the plunge yet, so I’d love to win some! πŸ˜‰ I’d be happy enough with fat quarters (and might be cheaper for postage internationally too :)). Why make only one bag?? I think you should make both!! πŸ˜€

    1. I like your thinking πŸ™‚

  2. The bag looks great but, silly as this sounds, I always hesitate with bags because they wear out sooner than quilts! So, my vote would be a quilt πŸ™‚ pbstrand@msn.com

    1. Yes, but fabric is meant to be loved πŸ™‚

  3. And Happy Birthday!!

  4. Happy birthday πŸ™‚ mine is the end of March – I love having a spring birthday!
    Have you seen the QAYG Amy Butler Weekender bags? Might be something to consider!
    I think I’d love FQs πŸ™‚ I love Joel Dewberry. He is one of my very favorite designers!
    Thanks for the chance, Lisa!

    1. The weekender bag is Huge, but great idea!

  5. *~*.~*Happy Birthday*~.*~. To Us! Mine is April 2. (and I will be a 1/2 Century old! LOL)

    I found this pattern I don’t know what you need in a bag, but I thought the pattern showed off those awesome fabrics!

    http://howaboutorange.blogspot.com/2011/06/butterick-tote-bag-finished.html

    Otherwise, for 2nd choice, I like the paparazzi bag!
    Have a fun birthday, I cannot wait to see what you decide to do with the fabrics.

    1. There are some nice details in that bag, thanks for the suggestion.

  6. It’s mt birthday next week too! I love that block with the teeny pinwheels in it, so cute! Thanks for the competition. I’d choose fat quarters if I were lucky enough to win.

    1. Happy birthday to you too!

  7. Happy birthday. I think your blocks are beautiful and your piecing is very precise.

  8. Such lovely choices. I’d choose fat quarters and use them for my many bee blocks I make.
    Happy birthday! The paparazzi bag would be nice

  9. Chris Matsche · ·

    Happy birthday. I would choose fat quarters of this lovely fabric. I think a bag would be perfect. Matsche.christine@yahoo.com.

  10. Happy (early-ish) Birthday!!! I’ve been eyeing those fabrics, I think they’re gorgeous! I’d choose fat quarters and I would make the Sew Together bag by sew demented. Such a great bag to use multiple prints! But, I like your idea of another noodlehead bag!

    1. Ooh, another great idea, thanks!

  11. Happy Birthday. Thank you for visiting my blog and for following me. Have a truly wonderful day!!

  12. That pinwheel block is amazing! I am making a queen sized sampler, so I am always looking for awesome blocks. Happy (early) birthday! I’m so happy you found Joel Dewberry. He’s been a favorite of mine for awhile. I usually buy his blenders, but occasionally get suckered into his big beautiful prints as well.

    1. I made the pinwheels big and trimmed them down, and the block looks completely different once turned on point. Thanks for coming by!

  13. Happy soon to be birthday! I think your favorite fabrics would be perfect in the 241 bag. If I were the winner I think I would like half yards.

  14. Happy Birthday, Lisa! Wow! You are so generous to be willing to share those gorgeous pieces. In my humble ‘have never made a bag yet’ opinion… I think these would sure make an awesome paparazzi bag! It’s a really smart looking design and a practical bag.

    1. Since I recently bought a new camera, it needs a snazzy bag. Thanks for coming by and commenting!

  15. catskillquilter · ·

    This fabric is lovely! There are so many things you could make, but I would use the multicolored large floral print (navy background) as fussycut centers, and make economy blocks. I would sew the blocks into a gorgeous table runner! I love fat quarters. BTW, I too am a Taurus — end of April!

  16. The Sassy Quilter · ·

    Happy Birthday…whenever it is:) Hope it is fabulous! I think your VQB corners look great. It was tricky getting them all to come out the same. Love the varitety. Now for the bundle…I do love the paparazzi bag, but they would be great with anything or just keep them to pet:)

