Decisions, decisions

On Wednesday, I happily ironed, starched, and cut the border pieces for my Easy Street quilt. I originally hadn’t planned on a border at all (it is 63″ x 85″ without a border, so this works for the twin size I wanted) but I realized that I might get wonky edges during quilting, since they’re on the bias, and I wanted some leeway to trim it up straight.

lilac floral (scant 1/2 yd), pink floral, blue floral (scant), Honey Honey

lilac floral (scant 1/2 yd), pink floral, blue floral (scant), Honey Honey


But when I laid out the pink & yellow floral, I didn’t feel it worked for the quilt. After rummaging through my stash, I came up with some more candidates, so I would like to ask your opinion on my options. A lot of my stash is too modern for this quilt, and although I had originally planned on a 3″ border, I may need to go narrower because some of what I have is not a full yard.
solid pink border with pink floral binding

solid pink border with pink floral binding

solid pink border with lilac floral binding

solid pink border with lilac floral binding



And then, of course, since I was stuck…I did a fabric pull for a new quilt. A little Anna Maria Horner for inspiration and some great solids (colour scheme inspired by Pantone Radiant Orchid and the wonderful quilts being linked up On the Windy Side). Linking up to the Triangle QAL with Paula at The Sassy Quilter and Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation.Adding a link to Fort Worth Studio Fabric Frenzy Friday.
fabrics for Triangle Quilt-A-Long

fabrics for Triangle Quilt-A-Long

The Sassy Quilter

Needle and Thread Thursday

9 comments

  1. The Sassy Quilter · ·

    I am so loving your pull for the triangle qal!!! Gorgeous. For the border I really love that yellow floral with the pink. Either would look great, but that’s my favorite:)

  2. At this point we are evenly divided–leaving you still to ponder.

  3. Oh I definitely like the yellow floral with the pink!! They real pop the quilt. Looking forward to joining in on the triangle fun!

    1. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment! See you at the triangle QAL!

  4. The pink floral…I love the purple but it seems to fade off a little.

  5. I voted perfect excuse to go shopping… I love a good excuse to go shopping.

  6. […] Friday morning, I posted about a dilemma with my fabric selections for my Easy Street quilt borders. Bolstered by your advice, I made a flying visit to Fabricland (Ontario chain store, I went […]

  7. It’s so hard to decide on the border! šŸ™‚ They all are beautiful fabrics. Can’t wait to see your Triangle quilt along progress!

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

  8. rhealey101 · ·

    Nice fabric choice.

