Spring Ahead Sunday Stash

Time to put the clocks ahead one hour (for at least eastern North America). Crossing my fingers that a certain 4-year old will actually go to bed at the “new” seven-o’clock.

I’ve been sick for a couple of days, so I haven’t done any sewing, but I do have a happy mail day to share with you. I haven’t bought much from fabric.com in the past, but since I get their e-mails I learned about a sale on Robert Kaufman prints at 15%…how could I resist getting backing for a flannel baby quilt using these fabrics (that I haven’t even pieced yet, for shame!).
flannel backing
And then Kona white was only $4.68 per yard. I want to make one mostly white quilt, just to cross that off my Quilty Bucket List, so now I’m set. This photo compares my previous purchase of PFD (prepared for dyeing). I’m not sure there is a difference in the photos, but in person it does seem to catch the light differently. Have you experienced any problems mixing different orders of white Kona?
white kona march 8
The prints for this pattern by Freshly Pieced will come out of this pile of charm squares from a flickr swap. I really wanted to use these in a single project (because in the end, they were rather expensive on a per yard basis), rather than mish-mashed into my stash, so this pattern will be perfect. I hope to get this finished by next winter.
charm squares
And while I was at it I picked up 3 spools of Aurifil thread, yum. And these two half-yards of Anna Maria Horner Dowry followed them home. This all came in one huge box for $18.40 shipping (and no tax, shh) so I think I’ll be shopping there again.
amh march 8
I had felt guilty about this haul until I saw Molli Sparkles’ loot, so please hop over to Sunday Stash hosted by Alisa at A Stitch Between for some fabric love!

The Tilted Quilt
14 comments

  1. Your charms will look great in that quilt! Nice stash πŸ™‚

    1. I need to use it up as fast as I buy it however… Thanks for stopping by!

  2. fabric photos are always sew fun!

    1. there is always more fabric to love!

  3. I bought some of the PFD bleach white, not understanding exactly what it was when I bought it. I agree with you that the light catches it differently. I haven’t used any yet (I bought 3 yards, for crying out loud!), because I wasn’t sure how it would wash or if it would pick up other colors in the wash or what. I should probably test it out and see what happens.

    I love the fabrics you’ve got! The charms will be great in that quilt!

    1. I may use some of the PFD as sashing in another project with prewashed fabrics. Hopefully it doesn’t make a difference. On 2014-03-09 10:33 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

    2. Oh, please let me know how that works!

  4. I have quite a bit of the PFD , but have not yet played with it! One of these days!
    Nice score on the AMH!

    1. I love AMH but have a tendency to hoard it, I am working on a plan to use it.

  5. Stacey Napier · ·

    Thanks for linking up – can’t wait to see how these gorgeous fabrics work their way into some beautiful quilts πŸ™‚

    1. Yes, I should get off the computer and back to the sewing machine πŸ™‚

  6. LOVE working with Anna Maria’s fabrics πŸ™‚ They are so fun!

  7. Oh I’m jealous! I am resisting the shops at the moment due to much stashing in previous years. I may not be able to resist much longer. I LOVE the Flickr swap charm squares. Beautiful!

    1. My stash seems to be 6 projects ahead of my sewing, but I have a colleague expecting a baby this year so I hope to at least get one (small) quilt done.

