Of sewing and photos

I made a resolution last week to focus on only one project, my Easy Street Quilt, which is mostly going well in that I have the A and B blocks done and am working on the setting triangles, but I did get a little bored so I had to throw in some leaders and enders to help break it up.

My daughter wanted to help one day, so I let her pick out fabrics for January’s Sugar Block Club (SBC). Didn’t she do well? Ok, so my sewing wasn’t so good, because it’s spinning the opposite way from the pattern, but I decided that’s okay. Go here to see the other fabulous blocks in the flickr group.
January Sugar Block club 2014

I also made up February’s block for the Sugar Block Club. I tried to be very meticulous with each unit, but some still ended up a bit small.
February Sugar Block Club 2014

I have put together a quick tutorial on how I match up points.

First, place a pin vertically through the two units. Then, keeping it vertical, pin on either side, in a section of the unit with minimum bulk. I then added pins on either end of the stitching line, making sure the units were square to one another. If I have a lot of bulk on critical points to match, I will hand baste — it doesn’t take long to add a few stitches, and it is really effective in keeping the pieces in place.
Pin the intersectionLine up the unitMatching points
And the other part of the title of this post? My new Nikon D5300 DSLR camera. Wow. Why would anyone ever need to learn how to take photos in manual when it takes such awesome photos in Auto? It even has Wifi–yes, I can send photos to my tablet or smartphone, then upload them to the internet.

I *adore* this shot of my daughter (the photographer-taking-a-photo-of-herself shot).
goggles
Linking up to Let’s Bee Social with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts and Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation. See you at the linky parties!
Needle and Thread Thursday

10 comments

  1. Hi there! It’s wonderful your daughter is interested in your quilting. My daughter in law came over yesterday and finished her first little quilt : )
    I only have a little point and shoot. Good enough for now. Lucky you to have a nice camera. Maybe one day….

    1. It’s rewarding to share our sewing skills with the next generation, isn’t it?

  2. Your blocks look like so much fun, and that photo is amazing.

  3. Wow that is good resolution but I do not think I could concentrate on just one quilt, even if it was as lovely as your Easy Street.

    1. It has been tough to stick to one thing, but I am drowning in half-finished projects so I need to get some of the older ones done.

  4. Love the fabric choices 🙂

  5. The Sassy Quilter · ·

    Your daughter did a great job! I think they look fine, didn’t even notice till you mentioned it. I really want to get a nice camera…your pics look great.

    1. We had a fun afternoon sewing session. She’s getting pretty good at guiding the fabric through the machine, too.

  6. I think it is wonderful that your daughter takes an active part in sewing! She did do a great job in picking out the fabrics, and I would never have known that your star is spinning in the “wrong” direction!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    1. I had to mention the spin direction to keep it real :), but honestly it doesn’t matter to the block or the quilt.

