Something’s happening

But it isn’t much sewing. Meh. Anyhow, I thought I would quickly share my January bee blocks for the Canadians Quilt {bee}. This is primarily the ladies I met through the Simply Solids bee last year. We have branched into prints for some fun.

Jaclyn (JaclynQuilts.com) made a great start to the year with a choice of “any star” with inspiration from a Design Seeds palette.
palette from {design seeds}
I wanted to use one of my new books, so I picked the Star and Pinwheel from Vintage Quilt Revival. Fabrics are Party Streamers (Alison Glass Sunprints), Honey Honey (Kate Spain), and Little Stars (Connecting Threads), with low volume backgrounds (Architextures crosshatch in gray, Wrenly by Valori Wells, and Summersville Alphabetty).
Star and Pinwheel block for Jaclyn
The pattern calls for making flying geese from triangles, but I have always had problems with that technique, so I started with rectangles and squares. Well, after I had proudly set aside the bonus HST’s, I slapped my forehead with my palm and realized the best use for them was to make another bee block. So I picked out a couple more prints, then framed the resultant 8″ star to make a 12″ (finished) block.
Bonus star

I have my fabrics cut for February’s bee block so hope to get to that soon. In other news, the winner of the Kona color card from the Wake Up to Kona blog hop post was Vicki, who blogs at Vicki’s Crafts. Stop by and say hi to her!

Linking up to Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts and Let’s Bee Social with Sew Fresh Quilts. See you at the linky parties!

Fort Worth Fabric Studio Blog
13 comments

  1. Your star blocks are fabulous, Lisa! That fabric palette is scrumptious. I really like that Wrenly by Valori Wells you used for the low volume background. Great job!

    1. At first, I was concerned the Wrenly wasn’t low volume enough, but I agree, it turned out well!

  2. Your blocks are fabulous!! I have been seeing many star blocks around the interweb these days… going to have to start making some!!

  3. Lovely blocks, the colour scheme is great.

  4. What a great block. You interpreted the palette really well, which is no easy feat.

    1. Thanks! I actually spent a long time considering whether the blue was more teal, or more true blue.

  5. Cute blocks Lisa. I make my flying geese with rectangles and squares too

  6. I love the stars with the low volume background fabrics!

  7. The Sassy Quilter · ·

    I love those design seed blocks! So inspirational, great block.

  8. Love those stars Lisa! They are really lovely–I especially love the low volume prints you used! πŸ™‚

    Would love for you to stop by and link this up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

  9. pretty colorway to work with and I think your blocks are fantastic:) good for you!

    1. I was quite happy how they turned out and so was Jaclyn!

      On Fri, Feb 7, 2014 at 8:43 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  10. I really like your blocks, especially the first one – I’ve not seen that one before.

