Almost-to-Christmas Finishes

Aahh, only three sewing days left before the in-laws move in for Christmas!

But thankfully I’m pretty much on schedule with finishes.  I have 3 batches of cookies baked and in the freezer, so one trip to the grocery store on Monday should be all I need to stock up on fruits and vegetables for a few days, and the pork roast for Christmas dinner (we’re going to have pulled pork, because I’m cooking, so I get to decide, and I decided that a crock pot meal is perfect).  What’s that?  You want to see what I’ve been sewing, you say.  Well, okay.

Finish #1 is the camouflage jacket for my daughter.  It turned out pretty well although with the fleece lining I added, it’s a bit bulky in the sleeves.  We’ll try to get some use out of it in the spring.  And having a child stand on a chair is fairly effective at keeping her still.  Smiles would be extra.  Hurray for another finish from my Q4 Finish-A-Long list!

Camo jacket for Sidney

Finish #2 is a pillow for my niece, for Christmas.  Not that I needed to start another project 10 days before Christmas.  I have started a quilt for her in the pink-yellow-gray colour scheme (she’s 11, of course pink is her favourite colour, but the yellow and gray give it a nice edge and tone down the saccharine sweetness of the pink).  The aqua was added due to the inspiration colour bundle from Chrissy at Sew Lux fabrics, so I am also linking this finish to the Ladies Night Challenge.  I think I like it, and I shall have to see how to incorporate aqua into the quilt.

Pillow for Grace

I started with a pile of various fabrics from the quilt, and decided to make the Joel Dewberry a feature in the centre.  Then I improvisationally started added fabrics, until the cover was the right size.  For the quilting I outlined the JD flowers, and pebbled in the yellow.  Not perfect, but I improved a lot even over this small area.  Take a look at the stitches on this flower–fairly regular, no?  I almost wimped out and used diagonal line quilting, but I think the FMQ really sets off the piecing and I’m so glad I tried!

FMQ flower

And finally you can really see the quilting on the back (a piece of fugly fabric from my stash).  Batting is Warm and White, with a concealed zipper in the back using this tutorial from Adrianne at On the Windy Side.  I used a variety of cotton and polyester threads depending on what colours I had, but I have to say that the Aurifil 50 for the pink flowers was probably the best for tension.

FMQ detail - back

Linking up to the other last-minute sewists at TGIFF with Gingersnap Quilts!
TGIFF

10 comments

  1. Lovely quilting on the pillow. I love Aurifil thread.

    1. I wasn’t quite sure if I believed in the hype, but since I finally figured out how to get the spool to fit on my sewing machine pin, I will continue to try it out. I would like to find a bricks & mortar shop where I can buyAurifil, ordering it online is not so useful.

  2. Beautiful finishes, I too love Aurifil threads.

  3. Congrats on your finishes Lisa! Love the jacket and your cushion is fabulous! Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year!

    1. My trip to see my sister got cancelled today due to freezing rain, so at least I get to admire my cushion for another week before I give it away. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Okay, first of all, your daughter is a doll!!!! Secondly your pillow is wonderful! I am inspired to fmq in the new year…it’s been hanging over my head long enough!!!!

    1. Thank you! Just like any skill, FMQ takes practice, so I really hope you jump into a small project like a pillow and give it a try!

  5. I love the pillow you made, the fabrics and the quilting are just beautiful.

  6. Nice jacket! Looks great 🙂 Your flower quilting is really good! I’m having a lot of fun messing with my free motion foot lately too.

  7. […] Camouflage jacket for my daughter — done […]

