Sunday Stash – A new bookcase

So anyway, I finally got tired of having all my craft books in boxes, or scattered around various rooms, so I decided to optimize the space at the end of our hallway and order a bookcase.  We have a local furniture seller who represents Amish and other craftspeople, so it was just a matter of bringing in my measurements and choosing a style.

New oak bookcase

New oak bookcase


I like books, I like being able to flip through various designs. I think it’s a lot easier to find what I remember seeing than searching through bookmarks or pdfs on my computer.  Now I have to say, pdfs are better for patterns, to just print out rather than tracing out a design.

When I was a teenager, I talked my mom into a Better Homes & Gardens craft book subscription, so I have a number of these in different craft types, from knitting to quilting to Christmas themes. The encyclopedia of sewing from Reader’s Digest is super for techniques for hand or machine sewing. Hey, how did that fishing book get in there?!

Craft books

Craft books


These days, when most of my shopping happens on-line, I find a craft book with 10 patterns a much better value than a single pdf pattern, so I think this shelf will get filled up soon.

In fabric-y stash, I received this yummy bundle for the challenge hosted by the Modern Quilt Guild (I joined as a individual member, yay!). If you take a look at my Pinterest, you may be able to figure out what I’m planning to make.

Riley Blake fabrics for 2013 MQG Challenge

Riley Blake fabrics for 2013 MQG Challenge


Linking up to Fiona at Finding Fifth for Sunday Stash. I’ll be hosting on November 17, I hope you come back to visit then!

2 comments

  1. Looks like an interesting combination of fabrics! I’ll be interested to see what you do with it 😀

    I have a fair number of craft books, but I’ve finally quit buying them because I so rarely use them. I started taking them out from the library and that seems to be working for me (it does help that Calgary Public Library has a pretty decent collection of quilting books!) because I can dip into the book and decide if it’s worth buying. I’ve only picked up a couple since I started borrowing them, which makes me happy since I’d likely have bought several more otherwise and then wished I hadn’t bought them.

  2. Love the fabrics – can’t wait to see your project. i will have to try to do some spying! 🙂

