Shorter Days

Mean fewer opportunities for quilty photos.  Last weekend was gorgeous, but with all the running around (the zoo, the park, the grocery store, you know, important stuff) I didn’t get much time to myself.

I took these Confetti bee blocks for the Simply Solids bee to the parking lot at lunch one day last week, but it was windy (so challenging to get them to stay still) and bright.  So that explains the wrinkles. These were great fun to make for Pam from Mad About Patchwork (her block tutorial is here) and would be a terrific way to use up scraps.  I was tempted to stray from the tutorial and make one of the sub-blocks reversed, but I resisted.  I have to say that I agree with what Pam wrote in the tutorial post–this bee has challenged me to try new things and I’ve made some friends, too. I made 2 blocks this month–one of the girls in our group had to drop out, so we decided to just “angel” for the rest of the bee rather than bringing in someone new. I’ll be sad when the bee is finished.
Confetti block for Pam
Confetti block 2 for Pam
I’ll show you my September block (Lucky pieces) for Janet at Caribou Crossings Chronicles.  For this, I trawled through Janet’s blog to find colour combinations that she liked, and also looked at them in black-and-white to make sure that the values would work.  I was quite pleased with the final effect.  I tend to have a *very* scant 1/4″ seam, which gave me issues on matching up points with this block.  It’s a bit annoying, because I’m using a 1/4″ foot, but if I keep the fabric on the edge of the foot–where it should be–the seam is too big, and if I let the fabric move to the left, it’s difficult to keep the seam from being too small.
Simply Solids bee block for September.
Finally, I’m still plugging away on these broken herringbones.  I had to take this photo in the hallway–I’ll need to figure out a better indoor location for photos. As soon as I get my new green block finished (because my blocks will be 14″ finished, not 12″), I will decide on the sashing.  I’m not sure if I have enough of the gray left, so I may use navy, which I love to let the blocks “float”.
Rainbow broken herringbone #MSBHQAL
Thanks for stopping by!  Linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday with My Quilt Infatuation.
My Quilt Infatuation

12 comments

  1. These shorter days are making me panic! With working etc. how can we get decent pictures! Lovely blocks you’ve made

    1. I’m going to try doing more photos at lunch time at work, maybe a cloudy day will work better.

  2. These shorter days came rather quickly didn’t they? All your blocks are looking good! I have been wanting to make a confetti quilt. Your blocks are really pretty with solid fabric. Is each block identical? The fabric in the broken herringbone is luscious! It is going up in a beautiful quilt.

    1. The confetti are pieced in an improv fashion, and I used mostly different fabrics for the kernels of each sub-block. Once Pam puts them all together, there should be 100 different fabrics in her quilt!

  3. Thanks for those blocks Lisa .. they look fabulous!

  4. your blocks are so beautiful! I love the broken herringbones for sure, but the confetti block looks like so much fun!

    I’m so glad you linked up to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  5. Oh my gosh, I love the herringbone blocks… very nice! They look great. I have to try the confetti someday.

    1. Thanks Sherri! It’s a super tutorial and very forgiving, as well as a great way to use up 2-1/2″ strips.

  6. Love your improv solid blocks. Beautiful stuff.

  7. Your blocks look great! I’m plugging along on those broken herringbones too. I have 12 done, and 6 more almost done, since I’m making them in batches. The confetti blocks challenged me too! They were fun to make, but mine looked more structured than I had intended it to look. I need to break loose of the rules more, I guess.

    I’ll be sad when the bee is done too. It’s been a great group. Maybe we should see if there;s an interest with the participants for a round 2?

    1. I’d be in for another round, let’s discuss.

