Last Minute Finish and Tomatoes

Yikes, how is it October already? It was gorgeous last weekend, I spent both days in the garden getting tanned and pulling out tomato plants. Sadly, southern Ontario was hit with a weather pattern that encourage late blight–I attempted to rescue some almost ripe tomatoes but the rest went to compost.
IMGP2866
Now, if you’re a gardener, you’re gasping at the thought that I composted my blighted plants rather than burned or garbaged them…well, I figure that the blight (which is a fungus) is in my garden already, so I can’t really get rid of it.

Then, after dark I sat down in my sewing room and gave myself a good talking to. With the result that I was able to finish up my 241 tote this week–better late than never for the Q3 Finish-A-Long linkup with She Can Quilt. (Click here for my Q3 list. I’m chuffed because I finished my EPP pillow too, that’s 2 out of 5!)
241 tote, Q3 Finish A Long
The main fabric is a indoor-outdoor fabric from Fabricland (Canadian chain), which was relatively stiff although I added medium weight interfacing as well. The lining is a linen-cotton blend, bought in the same visit, with some black cotton twill for pockets. I decided this combination was pretty bland and conservative, so I added the decorative saffron topstitching to the pockets and the vintage button. With an inset pocket, key loop, and adjustable strap, it should be a functional purse for me.
vintage button, 241 totedecorative stitching, 241 tote
241 tote, inside with pocket
I’m not too happy with the magnetic snap, for some reason the little “ears” seem to want to stick out of my lining. Let me know if you have any hints.

Also linking up to Finish It Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts and Purse Palooza at Sew Sweetness. (Note to Sara, I did have a couple of seams on this purse done before September 30, but, honestly, the bulk of it was sewn October 3-4).
Purse Paloozashe can quilt

9 comments

  1. Cute bag!
    Did you try reinforcing the magnetic snap with interfacing? I don’t think there’s much you can do about it now the bag is done, but maybe for next time?

    1. I put some batting in as recommended in the pattern, but maybe it isn’t thick enough? Next time I will try some interfacing instead.

  2. This is a lovely purse! Love the button, it really finishes it off! Not sure what to do about the ‘ears’

  3. Very cute bag – love the fabric.

  4. Love your fabric choices for your bag! It looks GREAT!! I usually use an extra square of interfacing on each side of the magnetic snap–even if piece where I’m placing it already has interfacing.

    1. Thanks for the hint! I’ll try that next time. I have to transfer my stuff over to this purse and try it out, then I’ll plan out my next one 🙂

  5. Very nice. I like the extra top-stitching, very pretty! I have been eyeing the 241 tote for a while now, maybe I’ll finally get around to making one – it looks really useful.

    1. So far, I think it’s a nice size, although I would like to add an inside slip pocket for my phone.

  6. […] My finishing ability improved in Q3 compared to Q2, with 2 finishes — my EPP pillow, and my 241 tote.  But I am bound and determined to get the rest done this quarter  (You’re dreaming, […]

