More Herringbones

Sorry Peeps, but this is all I’ve been doing lately. More photos to share:
Red, orange, yellow, green
blocks completed to Sept23
One of these things is not like the other…yes, I decided that it was easy enough to tweak the pattern to make the finished block 14″, so I’ll have to remake the green block.
Blue
blue block, sept23
It’s interesting how these blocks have used many of my feedsack reproductions and tonals, not the bold graphic prints that I think of as modern fabrics. Rachel at Stitched in Color had a great post back in January about helpful fabrics, those that blend and combine and play nicely, rather than shouldering to the front to yell, Look at me! You can see how pink leaves in the Joel Dewberry print “pop” out of the yellow block. But since this was the first “modern” fabric I acquired, it stays.
IMGP2820e
I had a dilemma about my purples, as you can see from the picture I have a wide range of values and tones (and yes, the ones on the right are technically navy). So in order to resist a trip to buy more fabric, I have concocted a plan to make one block using a rainbow of colours, which will be the centre setting. Come back to see, I’m sure it will be fabulous.
IMGP2826e
Linking up to WIP Wednesday with the Needle and Thread Network and Fabric Tuesday with Quilt Story.
tntn

6 comments

  1. I adore the purple butterfly print from Cocoon (I think that’s the line). I have an FQ in my stash but haven’t found the right project for it. Looking forward to seeing it in your block!

    1. Yes, it’s from Cocoon. I bought a FQ earlier this year and used a 15″ square for backing in my current handquilting project.

  2. Great blocks. Will it become a lap size or a bed quilt? 14″ will make it go quick.

    1. I’m only planning on 9 blocks to make a nice lap size.

  3. Oooh. I absolutely adore your herringbone blocks, and your wonderful colour theory. I’m sure you will come up with a perfect way to use what you have. Good luck, can’t wait to see the next stage.

  4. Thank you for showing all those different colour combinations. Your blocks are all terrific!

