All about Herringbones

Oh rainbow blocks, thou hast taken over my dreams. I think about you by night and by day (yeah, when I’m supposed to be working).
I begin to see why people love precuts, especially jelly rolls. This block goes together fairly quickly, probably in less than an hour (but since I rarely get an uninterrupted hour to sew, I can’t say for sure). And to me it’s so much more interesting than keeping the strips square to the block. My name is Lisa, and I love the broken herringbone.
Here is my first post from when when I joined this quilt-along.

I’m happy with my progress, I need to get the rest of the strips pre-cut and then I’ll be able to fly through these. You can use a charm square to start this block off, just cut it so the triangle is 1.5″ deep. However you’ll need an extra strip later on.
IMG_20130911_102744
I’m hoping I’ve used up my allotment of mistakes–including forgetting to add the inner sashing when I changed directions–twice–and cutting my strips 2-1/4 instead of 2-1/2″. Another change I’ve tried is to make the block finish at 14″ square. I tried 15″ too but there are some awkward bits, so this orange block will get trimmed.
a really big block  
I’m making blocks as I work through my stash, so not necessarily in the same order as suggested by the fabulous Molli Sparkles.  And in case you’re thinking about joining in, you should.  It’s fun.

Yellow block in progress MSBHQAL
Linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation.

4 comments

  1. Gorgeous block!

  2. Hi Lisa…love the your block and especially with the grey back ground very effective.

  3. your gray sashing really sets the colors off in these BH blocks! I love them!

    I’m so glad you shared at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    1. It was serendipity that I pulled out that gray fabric when I started the fabric pull for these blocks and realized it would be perfect for the inner sashing–I bought a meter (39″) just because I loved it but didn’t have a chance to use it until now. Lisa

