Travellin’ Pic Stitch and Finish Along Q3 Finish

Travellin' Pic Stitch Finish Along Q3 Finish

English Paper Pieced Pillow

Almost a year ago, before I started this blog, I was inspired by Laura at Quokka Quilts to try a little English paper piecing. I’ve always loved the Amish tumbling blocks pattern, so I downloaded some diamond templates and got to work. The concept behind the Travellin’ Pic Stitch Blog hop was to use a travel photo to generate a palette, which would then be used for fabric selection. I used this shot of my nephew and I canoing in Frontenac Park, near Kingston, Ontario.
Frontenac Park canoe
I ran out of the light blue, so I added some Kona Nautical for the background. This was also an experiment in using cotton thread for quilting (although I used polyester in the bobbin). I found I had to turn down my top thread tension slightly, as the Mettler cotton thread seems to be slightly heavier. I’m pleased to have this completed as one of my Finish-Along goals for Q3 (click here!), hosted by Leanne at She Can Quilt.
The backing is a gray-yellow print from my local quilt shop, The Stitch Witch, and one of the closest things they had to a modern fabric. Finished size is 15″x23″, to suit my IKEA pillow form.
IMG_20130901_215058-1335729026
Also linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday with My Quilt Infatuation and TGIFF also with Quokka Quilts this week!
FALMy Quilt Infatuation

9 comments

  1. Wow that’s lovely! Perfect colour matching and such a nice momento of your holiday!

  2. Love the color inspiration photo too! That turned out beautifully!

  3. I love the tumbling blocks – I’ve seen them before and didn’t know what the pattern was called – thanks! You’ve done a lovely job.

    1. The hand piecing is a great take-along project, although a whole quilt seems a daunting task. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I love that color palette! your pillow looks beautiful.

    Thank you so much for sharing this at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    šŸ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  5. Nice … I love the photo inspiration!

  6. I’m always drawn to tumbling block projects; I think the colors in this one are great!

    1. Thanks! The palette builder is a great starting point for finding combinations, and blue is my favourite colour. I did try a couple of other photos from the trip, but this one was the best. Lisa

  7. I also like tumbling blocks. Great use for pillow!

