A Patchwork Please Zakka Pouch Finish

Seeing as I seem to rarely have anything I finish, I am super-happy to share something I started and finished within only a week.  If you take a look at my blog header, you’ll see the cute owl pouch I made for the Pretty Little Pouch Swap in the spring.  Since I had all of the other halfs of the HST’s left, I put together the Triangle Patchwork Pouch from Patchwork Please.  Ayumi’s design uses a rectangle-triangle, so I adjusted the dimensions of the bottom of the pouch and the lining to suit my HST panels.

Blue HST side with twill tape tab

Blue HST side with twill tape tab

If you make this, note that the seam allowances all seem to be 1/4″, not the 1/2″ she specifies. As per the book, the pattern is intermediate, and I would recommend that you have some experience sewing three-dimensional items.

I have never purchased fusible fleece, so I tried using some Warm Bond cotton-polyester batting instead. It holds its shape and stands up on its own–I added some cross-hatching to the bottom panel, but next time I think I would add medium weight fusible interfacing as well.Triangle patchwork pouch adjusted to use
The best part about it is now I have a cute pouch to keep my hand quilting supplies in, instead of a sad plastic box.
IMG_20130828_075628-1178823839
Linking up to Debbie at A Quilter’s Tablefor the Zakka 2.0 sew-along and TGIFF.
ETA a link to Sew Cute Tuesday – the triangle edition on June 10.
Zakka 2.0 button

11 comments

  1. Looks really nice Lisa. Useful too!

    1. Thanks, it’s surprising roomy and the way the zip goes down the side makes it easy to get everything out.

  2. ohhh nice pouch, I’m not brave enough to try it with the zip. thanks for linking up

  3. Just bought the book, so great to read of your experience.

    1. The projects are both cute and practical, enjoy!

  4. Very nice, Lisa! I love being able to use scraps from another project too.

    1. It was nice to have the more tedious part–making the patchwork–already finished so I could just have fun with the construction.

  5. This turned out darling! Great use of your leftover HSTs!

  6. Great pouch, thank you for sharing advice. The book is on my wish list.

  7. Super cute! I love the projects I’ve seen that use this book. It would be a good idea to havve somewhere to put my sewing things! Can I ask a quilting question – what does HST stand for?! Thanks!

    1. HST = half-square triangle. The way I use it is for a square made up of two right-angled triangles.

