A Honey of a Sunday Stash on June 16

You get it right?  The fact that there’s so many fantastic -a-longs, tutorials, and inspirations in blog-land that you can’t keep up?  There’s two going on right now that are, for me, colliding into a supercallifragilistic fireworks explosion of must-sew! inspiration.

The first is the Zakka 2.0 sew-along from Deb at A Quilter’s Table and Lindsay at LR Stitched. This style often uses linen paired with pretty quilting cottons, which make practical and useful items for around the home. I don’t have time for many of them, but hoping to make the place mats.

The second is the Kate Spain blog hop hosted by Alyce at Blossom Heart Quilting. I won a scrap bag from Kate Spain herself a year and a half ago, and those lovely Good Fortune scraps have been useful for many projects, from pouches to quilt blocks, and fostered an attachment to Kate’s fabric designs.
Kate Spain mosaic June 16

So how do these collide for me, you ask? Well, I was lucky enough to win a gift certificate to Knotted Thread (on Etsy) from Deb at a Quilter’s Table, so I quite happily filled up a flat-rate envelope with yardage and fat quarters of Honey Honey (love those bees). Oh, that Honeycomb of Happy-Go-Lucky snuck in there too.

Honey Honey Sunday Stash

Perhaps a little closer…
Sunday Stash closer

These will become a dress for my daughter, some Zakka place mats, and maybe other projects…

Linking up to Sunday Stash, today hosted by Allison at Dreaming in Patchwork and the Kate Spain blog hop linkup with Alyce.

Kate Spain blog hop

9 comments

  1. Oooohhhh…. so pretty! Lucky you winning the certificate! Love the Honeycomb prints. I’m excited to see your daughter’s dress.

  2. I can’t keep up either! With 4 swaps, the months roll around pretty fast. Enjoy those new goodies

  3. Lovely Kate Spain finishes, so very Zakka style, and lovely new stash of fabrics, I can’t wait to see your HoneyHoney dress for your daughter.

    1. I should get started before we’re past summer ! She may end up wearing it for the first time with a long sleeve shirt underneath.

  4. Ooh, winning scraps from Kate herself, lucky!!

  5. such beautiful colors in those fabrics! they will make a fantastic dress, I’m sure 🙂 I haven’t used one of Moda’s Honeycomb precuts yet, they do look like fun though

    1. I’m not sure what I’ll do with the honeycomb yet, I’d like to do something a little fancier than just sewing them all together. I was surprised that some of the pieces are showing brown edges, which I think is from the laser cutting.

  6. I love it when worlds collide! I am a big Zakka fan and slowly liking each of KS s lines more and more.

    1. Zakka fits in so well with modern interior decor, using simple shapes and colours to draw your eye and create a sense of balance.

