Swapping in the Spring

You probably know what a swap is.  But just in case, let me explain that it is a group activity where the members make something crafty along a given theme for a partner.  I had seen a few come up but had been too late for the signups, but luckily one of the bloggers I follow introduced me to the Pretty Little Pouch Swap on flickr.

Partners are secret in this swap, although you receive a questionnaire with info and can “stalk” your partner’s online presence.  I found it a real challenge to make something that I thought my partner would like.  I started with one idea, added another, then revisited idea #1 to come up with the final version.

Owl Pouch May 2013

Owl Pouch May 2013

I really like it.  I may have to make something similar for me.  And I have lots of HST’s left since I did the two-at-a-time method of making them from squares. It was a bit tricky keeping the seam straight when sewing over the bulk of the corners.

The details:  HST’s made from an assortment of stash fabrics with Kona white.  Owl embroidery from a sketch I made, on natural linen/cotton (wonderful to work with, I will be doing more with this material).  Kona coal on the back, lining is Happy Mochi Yum Yum, with some Kate Spain Good Fortune in the pocket. Final size about 10″ x 9″.

Owl pouch inside

Owl pouch inside

The bottom line however, is that this took a lot more time than I thought. About halfway through, I decided I was definitely overcommitted for this month, and I finished it the day before the deadline. I’ve signed up for the Say it With Flowers blog hop at the end of the month too. Lesson learned, Lisa–one external commitment is enough!

Linking up to Fabric Tuesday at Quilt Story (click on the button) and TGIFF.
Quilt StoryTGIFF

9 comments

  1. Very pretty! Love owls too 🙂

    1. I like how he turned out a little cross-eyed. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Very nice pouch. I absolutely love the fabric you chose for the lining! Gorgeous.

    1. This pouch was a great way to stretch my creativity, and I kmew I would use that fabric from the beginning for the lining to tie all the exterior colours together.

  3. Dropped by from TGIFF – that is a really cute pouch and welcome to the world of Flickr swaps! 🙂

    1. I enjoyed it, and I will participate in another swap, but probably not until October or so. So glad you stopped by!

  4. Super cute! Well done 🙂

  5. pretty, little HSTs are just so cute and perfect fabrics too.

  6. This is beautiful! But I agree it’s very easy to over commit. It’s surprising how long it takes making for swaps and bees – mostly the thinking time!

