Reflections on Pearls of Wisdom

Thanks again to everyone who entered my giveaway with Sew,Mama,Sew!. The memories you shared with me of crafting with parents, friends, and grandparents, and important pieces of wisdom, were very touching. I was only 11 when my Nana passed away, so the things I remember are her love of tea, that she could only grow African violets, and her cheerfulness. She never learned to drive, so we would visit her weekly to take her grocery shopping, or my mom would give her a perm, or just visit. You can go back and read all the comments yourself, but I would like to share a few here whichI found especially heartwarming.

Kim
My Grandma taught me not to take sewing too seriously. I’m a perfectionist and she is not and she showed me how to enjoy the process without expecting perfection. Thanks for the chance to win!

Mariana Galvagno
My grandma taught me to do things without waiting something in return. I miss her!

Stacy Alfano
My grandmother died before I was really old enough to remember them (both of them) BUT my daddy, now he was awesome and always taught me to work hard and to be a good person!

The winner was Ashley Oh, from near Chicago, who said: My grandma was the one who taught me to sew! She usually used a machine, but made sure all her kids and grandkids (a total of seven girls) knew how to sew by hand.

Unfortunately, I didn’t win anything, so I might need to do some shopping to console myself. Which at least has fewer calories than chocolate.

Lindt chocolate

Happy Mother’s Day to all Mothers, Moms, Mums, Mamas, Nanas, Grandmas, Omas, and step-Moms out there today.

Tulip after the rain

Tulip after the rain

