Sunday Stash on Wednesday

I visited the Creativ Festival in Toronto in Friday afternoon.  I have to say, these big shows are more like shopping events than anything else, where you also have to pay to get in and the retailers have to pay to have a booth–just who do you think is making the most money here?

I did watch a great presentation on garment fitting.  I’ve mostly learning about fitting from books and trial and error, so it was nice to have some explanation about the thought process to go through when altering a pattern.
Tsuru FQ
I also found a new-to-me retailer who I plan to patronize in the future–I picked up this gorgeous FQ bundle of Tsuru and 5 other FQ–Scribble Notes in navy and Cross Hatch White from Architextures, some Cameo by Amy Butler, Cocoon from Valori Wells, and Lucky Penny Grate in Lime. Myfabricspot.com is a Canadian online only store, she has an excellent selection of modern fabrics, and great customer service (I sent her a question when I got home and she answered before I went to bed, amazing considering she had been on her feet all day at the show.)  And she does ship worldwide, ’cause I know you wanted to know that.

Assorted FQ
I chatted with another woman in her booth and she mentioned she is a blogger!  with a giveaway on right now of Tsuru!  so head on over to Thread Riding Hood and say hi to Sherri.

I also picked up this yummy hand-dyed bamboo sock yarn, so if any of you can point me to a good toe-up sock knitting pattern (preferably free, but if it is truly amazing I will pay full value), just leave a comment.  I have made one pair of cuff-down socks from the classic Patons book, but they were pure wool and shrunk after my husband washed them in hot, so they’re too small now.  The retailer assured me that these won’t shrink.  And I picked up a very distinctive colour.

Sock yarn

So what’s exciting in your stash this week? A new favourite or an old one you’ve unearthed? Head on over to Finding Fifth and link up with Fiona!

Sunday Stash

5 comments

  1. Hi Lisa! Thanks for the link, I’ll have to head over to Sunday Stash and see what it’s all about!

    1. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. By the way – love the yarn. Wish I knew how to knit!

  3. Oh thanks for the linkys too. Good to find a Canadian online store. I wonder what international postage is like. Hey those knitted golden slippers will be something to behold.

    1. Thanks for visiting! My golden socks will keep me toasty warm, especially when my Prince Charming has cold feet 🙂

