A head start on Christmas

A head start on Christmas

I started this throw as a Christmas tree-pants sew-along from Sew,Mama,Sew (link here) in October 2011. But I quickly decided that I couldn’t bear to slice it through the middle after doing all the patchwork.

I added the paper pieced letters, which are 5″ built up to 8″ with borders around each, because I felt it needed to be just a bit bigger–so now it’s 40″ by 48″. Unfortunately I’m not at my home computer tonight so I can’t tell you where I found them. Letters created by Dori Hawks and found on the quiltercommunity.com (link here).

The throw is a mixture of quilt and craft cottons, with a few non-Christmas prints thrown in, since my intent was to make it entirely from stash fabrics. I am very relieved to finally have it pieced and basted, wobbly seams and all, to guarantee I will have it finished for Christmas 2013.

Linking up to WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced and The Needle and Thread Network (click on buttons to go to the link parties!). (Edited to add links to SMS tutorial and letters blocks).
WIP Wednesday

9 comments

  1. marginmirror · ·

    Very pretty! Will your next one celebrate spring?

    1. Not specifically, but I do have a very spring like one on the go as well. Thanks for visiting!

  2. I love the wording you added. Great quilt!

  3. Every home needs a christmas quilt or two or three and since Christmas comes at least once a year it will come in handy for those days! I am one who believes in being early, even if it is so early that nobody even knows that the event is coming!! I make baby quilts for unstarted babies, so that is somewhat ahead of time, I suspect…

    1. It’s my first Christmas quilt but hopefully not my last.

  4. I love your quilt! I fully intended to work on Christmas stuff throughout the year – I even have a reminder in my calendar to do so and haven’t done it yet but now feel inspired by you. 😉

    1. I’m glad I am able to inspire you–I really love how the paper-pieced letters turned out. I look forward to seeing your finishes.

  5. Wonderful top, and so intelligent to get it done now.

    1. Unfortunately, gifts for others took over my sewing time last November and December, so I was determined not to have that happen a second time.