My First Big Quilt – Easy Street

Way back in 2012, before I had a blog, I was busy reading blogs about quilting and sewing, and one person who I followed then (and now) is Bonnie Hunter. Bonnie is a scrappy quilt lover and designer, and a prolific blogger, and runs a free mystery quilt every year (usually American Thanksgiving to New Year’s). I had never done a mystery quilt-along, but it looked like fun, so I pulled a mix of 30’s reproduction fabrics from my stash (Connecting Threads, Fabricland, and some Riley Blake dots) and got to work at 1/4 speed.
Easy Street Mosaic Lisa in Port Hope
It was amazing to see it come together from simple units (make 100 4-patches. ok, now make 186 flying geese, et cetera) to a marvellous whole. I joined a Flickr group with a great group of people to share progress with. So I managed to keep up with the 1/4 size, but then I decided to make it into a twin size quilt, so over the next year I plugged away, making more units, and a few blocks. Finishing this quilt became a 2014-Q1 finish-a-long goal…then a Q2 goal. I added the 2.5″ border in Kona Carnation to stabilize it for quilting, on my Husqvarna Platinum 755. Finished size is 90″x68″.

I quilted it in an all-over loopy meander with additional feature quilting in the B blocks, and snail shell spirals in the border. Batting is Warm and White.
Finished Easy street

Sidney under the quilt

Sidney under the quilt

These photos were taken after washing, due to a small incident involving a tired 4-year old and a full glass of wine, fortunately white (I was reassured by my daughter that I could have another glass after she went to bed). And my photography assistant helped with the photo shoot, which led to some fun shots like this.

Let's both go under the quilt!

Let’s both go under the quilt!

Of course I added a label, and I’m reporting this as my first finish-a-long finish of Q2 (click here for FAL goal setting post).
Easy Street Label

Linking up to everybody this week!
Fabric Tuesday at Quilt Story
Let’s Bee Social at Sew Fresh Quilts
I Quilt with the delightful Ms Midge
TGIFF
Finish it up Friday with Amanda Jean at Crazy Mom Quilts

24 comments

  1. I love your Easy Street!!! The ’30’s fabrics play so well with the design.

    1. Thanks Cathy! All of the units are 3 inches, so the smaller scale prints are perfect.

  2. Wow! It looks amazing. She’s so lucky to have it!

    1. I learned a lot in the progress of making this quilt, and we both love it! On Jun 4, 2014 11:36 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. wow that looks beautiful, what a lucky lady she is :-)

    1. I am so pleased with how the colours worked out and so is my daughter. On Jun 4, 2014 12:34 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Lisa what a beautiful quilt! I love the design and the colors you choose. I would never have the patience for some much piecing — always in awe at those who do! Now tell me again why your 4 year old was having a glass of wine ?? Ha ha ha…. The quilt came out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing.

    1. The pieces are pretty small, but the result is beautiful!

  5. sdaurio · ·

    Great color choices for Easy Street, I chuckled about the incident with the glass of wine. And such a sweet assistant.

    1. she is fascinated by the piecing process, and has her own box of scraps to play with. On Jun 5, 2014 8:25 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. What a wonderful gift you have created, and a fun photo shoot. I like the light shining through when you are both under the quilt, and I also love that your assistant had her own camera for the shoot!

    1. i love the shot from under the quilt too. On Jun 5, 2014 11:37 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. A beautiful, beautiful quilt, Lisa. I love the combination of pastels you have used.

    1. Since it was a mystery I didn’t know how the color choices would play together but I am happy with the finished product.! On 2014-06-06 5:31 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  8. Fabulous finish, well done you!

    1. Thank you for stopping by! On 2014-06-06 6:42 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  9. Audrey · ·

    Wow! What a great first big quilt! You did a fabulous job. Thanks for sharing on TGIFF !

    1. The first big quilt but not the last, for sure! On 2014-06-06 8:09 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  10. So pretty, very delicate looking. Love the photos showing the back.

    1. I still am amazed how the disparate fabrics come together when quilting to make a marvelous whole. On 2014-06-07 5:22 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  11. Really nice job. Love it!

    1. I learned a lot making this quilt and it is super pretty to boot. On 2014-06-08 1:05 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  12. Congratulations on such a fabulous finish, Lisa! She’s a beauty… and so is your cute little quilt photography helper. I love that shot from underneath. Well done!

    1. She is still working on her photography skills but will be a great helper for quilty photo shoots in a year or two ;) On 2014-06-08 7:49 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

