Keeping it easy (Sunday Stash)

I would love to be showing you a finished triangle quilt today, but it’s not done. Those of you who follow me on instagram have seen the tension issues I was having with the straight line quilting. Yuck!  Rethreaded and adjusted tension and it's still doing it.  I'll have to fix it tomorrow.  Using a walking foot, let me know if you have any ideas. #triangleqal
On Friday, I tossed my head and said, Quilting should be fun, I don’t want to stress about finished this quilt, it will be done when it’s done. Here is a picture of the quilting status.i decided to add more quilting , so I won't be done for Linky tomorrow. #iquilt #triangleqal #fridaynightsewalong

So let’s drool over some pretty fabric, shall we?

I have received the fabric for the next Modern Quilt Guild challenge, so here is a pretty shot together with Kona coal, iron, and ash, my potential background fabrics.

MQG bundle with coal, iron, and ash.

MQG bundle with coal, iron, and ash.

Earlier this month I placed an order at Mad About Patchwork (OMG have you seen the rainbow stash bundle!) which included these lovely prints. From left, Stitch Circles in Olive, Michael Miller (I am loving the shades that these blenders come in, although, in my opinion, this company uses a slightly coarser weave than some of the quilting cottons out there.) Enchant Birds in Aqua, and Anna Maria Horner Mind’s Eye in Tambourine (because you I can never have too much AMH).

teals from Mad About Patchwork

teals from Mad About Patchwork


And after perusing the hundreds of bolts at the Len’s Mill booth at the Creativ Festival show, these low volume text prints followed me home. I mostly prefer my low volumes to be in neutral (beige or grey) tones, I’m not as comfortable using LV which read as a colour.
Wordplay (Michele D'Amore), Love Notes (Echo Park Paper Co), Noteworthy (Sweetwater)

Wordplay (Michele D’Amore), Love Notes (Echo Park Paper Co), Noteworthy (Sweetwater)


Finally, some super soft sock yarn. I recently finished up a knitted hat, which I worked on mostly while watching swimming lessons, plus some car rides, and I really would like to make some socks for myself to use this “down time” constructively. This one comes with a pattern so I can start right away. I do have a ravelry account, and I have downloaded a few patterns from there too, but it’s so hard to decide which one *she says plaintively*.
Fleece Artist hand-dyed sock yarn

Fleece Artist hand-dyed sock yarn


So hopefully, my friends, these lovelies will find some good use in projects over the next two or three months.

Linking up to Molli Sparkles for Sunday Stash.

14 comments

  1. I hope you get those tension issues fixed, it can be so annoying! Great fabric haul and I really like that wordplay print.

  2. Hmm. I have that MQG fabric too–no plan yet. When I have tension problems, I rethread both top and bobbin thread, even if I think I have it right already. Often–not always–it fixes the problem. It reminds me of when my ex used to take appliances apart and put them back together without doing anything else, ad they would start working again.

    1. My machine is skipping the odd stitch, so it may be due for a visit to the shop, other than that it’s working OK now. On May 4, 2014 11:16 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Love the Atomic Tabby line. I’ve made a quilt : ) Your sock yarn looks beautiful and I will be watching for your progress : )

    1. Next on my list, finding the right size needles…I learned to magic loop a couple of years ago and I much prefer it, although I still start out with double pointed needles for a few rows. On May 4, 2014 11:29 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Lovely fabrics! For prints, I think Art Gallery (and FreeSpirit) have the nicest feeling stuff, but Michael Miller’s Cotton Couture solids are amazing to work with… they’re much more like the Art Gallery stuff, just lovely.

    Is it dumb that I’m most curious about that blue and white leaf print behind all your new stash? It’s pretty!

    1. The blue and white is the Bark and Branch canvas I talked about last week–I agree, it’s so pretty I was musing keeping it just for backgrounds. On May 4, 2014 12:12 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

    2. Oh, how easily distracted I am that I forgot about it already :D I guess it mentally went to my I-like-it-but-not-enough-to-break-this-supposed-fabric-fast pile.

      It kind of makes me want to make another Birdie Sling with it though (since it’s canvas… I never know what to do with canvas otherwise).

  5. Nice stashing, I hope your tension problem gets sorted out, a little question here about the low volume what is LV?

    1. I was being a lazy typist LV=low volume. Thanks for stopping by! On 2014-05-04 3:37 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. You are so right in that you can never have too much AMH. Unfortunatley, they don’t play well with others usually and really do work best with each other. But they are oh so beautiful. :) Well worth stashing IMO.

    1. I have a specific project in mind for my AMH stash, but in the meantime I’ll keep adding to it :). I think I can sneak a little of the sundials fabric into my next bee block. On 2014-05-04 7:07 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. Too bad about the tension – how frustrating. Have you tried a different sized needle? I hope it works out – not fun when it’s not fun :) LOVE the MQG bundle – so pretty!

    1. I changed the needle, bobbin, and tension. It could be the thread (wonderfil on the top and aurifil in the bobbin)…but I did not want to change threads mid-quilt so I am sticking with it. Only skipping the odd stitch now.

      On Mon, May 5, 2014 at 9:34 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

