Blissfully astray for May

The most exciting thing about the first of the month is the new bee blocks.  Carly in the Canadians Quilt {bee} has asked for curved improv log cabin blocks, and the new Sugar Block is out as well.
I have realized that I neglected to share completed blocks from these bees in April. First up let’s look at the Garden Fence block for Anne Marie.  She asked for no florals, so I dug out strips of Violet Craft’s Shattered and paired with some Party Streamer sunprint (Allison Glass).  It turned out fantastic with the charcoal strips provided by Anne Marie, and I know that you all agree because I saw yesterday that this photo has over 2200 views on Flickr.   I was, like, wow, how did that happen?
April block for Anne Marie
The April SBC block used the flip and stitch method, and the bonus HST’s could have helped me make my HST units for March, except that I had already cut all my fabrics for March. ..oh well.  The April block is the first to be a four patch, rather than a nine patch, so it looks over sized in comparison.  I tried to pick fabrics to give some movement to the block, but if I had to do it again I would use two different fabrics for the centre pinwheel.

image

April sugar Block sunprints

And here is March, a light and happy block.   I spent a long time on my fabric choices and kept the secondary background fabric (Koi collection) subtle.

image

March sugar block liph

Amy’s topic for April’s block was Presence, and her discussion on focusing on family and friends without succumbing to electronic distractions really resonated with me.   I spend a lot of hours each day on the computer for work, and one of my treats is reading blogs and managing this blog, yet that should not be intruding on time with my husband and daughter.   I’ll keep working on it.

Thanks for stopping by today.   Linking up to Let’s Bee Social and Fabric Frenzy Friday with Fort Worth Fabric Studio.

Fort Worth Fabric Studio Blog
8 comments

  1. I love how gorgeous the different patterns on the fabrics work together, really striking :-)

    1. I love playing with pretty fabrics! On 2014-05-01 3:28 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. You sure have excellent taste in fabrics, Lisa. And your blocks show them off wonderfully. I am not surprised your top block got sew many views. I love it! Well, if you are limiting your time spent online… I am glad you still made time for the Let’s Bee Social!

    1. Well, right now the vacuuming may be a bit behind lol On 2014-05-01 4:40 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. I spend a lot of time on the computer, too. I’d much rather be reading a quilting blog than vacuuming. But, I’m working spending more time away from the computer and with my family. Probably why I’m behind reading so many and posting less often.

    1. It’s just managing the various buckets of our time, isn’t it? quilting is good for the soul, but dinner still has to be made and the bills paid on time. On May 1, 2014 10:06 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Very nice! I appreciate your comments about being on the computer. It is too easy to do.

    1. It really can eat up a lot of time. .. And it’s not really fair to my daughter to limit her screen time when I am on-line in front of her. On 2014-05-04 6:06 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

