A Shopping Spree (Sunday Stash)

This weekend was the spring Creativ Festival in Toronto, held at the Mississauga Convention Centre. And of course, I went with a specific purpose — shop, shop, shop! I am almost ashamed to say I didn’t look at very many of the finished quilts, but I had a fabulous time perusing the different shops and picking up bargains.

To manage my shopping somewhat, I went with a specific list–fabrics in coral and green (both colours which I find difficult to buy online), a seam ripper, and some wool for another hat.

I find the lighting in these venues difficult–with a minimum of natural light, I must thank the random ladies who helped me decide if something was coral or pink, and who joined the discussion on whether fat quarters or half yards were better for stashing. One problem with fat quarters is the lack of printed selvedges, so some research will be in order on some of these. Although, I have to laugh at myself, once I started unrolling the fat quarters I started to see some trends as to my favourite designers.

The sources of these at the show were A Stitch in Time, Sew Sisters, Fabric Spot, and Len’s Mill Store.
greens plus from Creativ Festival
Hapi Garden Heart Bloom in Pine (Amy Butler)
Stitch Square in Mint (Michael Miller)
Midwest Modern (Amy Butler)
UnknownDan Bennett Cosmos Allusions (Rowan)
Designer Essential Flora (Freespirit)
Power Pop (Jenean Morrison)
I never would have picked up the Hapi Garden online, but in person it is a lovely colour, like a comfortable leather armchair.

Sunday Stash corals
Corals from Creativ Festival, from top left:
Desert Blooms by Jane Dixon (Andover)
UnknownCaroline in Red, Taza (Dena Fishbein)
Avignon by Emily Taylor (Riley Blake)
Organic Soul by Amy Butler
Grace in Coral by Valori Wells (Freespirit)
Freespirit Designer Essential Flora
I must say, the corals and greens is a great combination, and as I sit here with them piled on my lap I am contemplating quilt designs.

But then of course there were a few others which I had to adopt and give a good home.
unplanned additions Creativ Festival
From top left:
Valori Wells Cocoon
UnknownTrailing Orchid in Blue Velvet, Organic Soul (Amy Butler)
Stitch Circle in Navy
Stitch Floral (Michael Miller)
Swallow Skies in Gypsy (Tula Pink)
3 x Sundials, Field Study (Anna Maria Horner)
Behind, Canvas from Bark and Branch

I have added individual photos of my unknowns, so leave me a comment if you can help (click on the photo to see larger in Flickr). Edited to add fabric names above, thanks Terri and Jen! Found the last one on etsy!
Coral , wondering what it's called.sunday stashunknown sunday stash fabric
But alas, no seam ripper (mine is starting to get a bit dull, and I have lost the safety cap) or hat yarn came home with me.

I met up with Sherri from Thread Riding Hood, and one of the many topics we touched on was how difficult it is to judge scale online. And that gorgeous canvas from Bark and Branch from Fabric Spot is a good example of this. When I saw this print on the screen, I thought the leaves were about 4 inches high, but they are actually about 2 inches or so, and the texture of the canvas is so soft. Now, I will need to make a tote bag or two for summer use.

You will have to come back next week to see what else followed me home that was not on the original list.

Linking up to Mr. Molli Sparklelicious for Sunday Stash. Come and join us!

12 comments

  1. The oranges look very fun : )

    1. I felt corals were lacking, and I am super pleased with my stash although it ended up being a larger haul than I had originally planned. Oh well, I shall just have to make a quilt or three.

      On Sun, Apr 27, 2014 at 11:21 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. It can be hard to buy on line for certain colors. Sometimes you have to really see them up close to make sure they are the right shade. I hate to make mistakes that costs me money. The fabrics look nice. Will be waiting to see what you make of all of them. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Yes, exactly! But that is why I embrace scrap quilting, 50 fabrics are easier to match than 5.

      On Sun, Apr 27, 2014 at 11:26 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. I am so envious of the sundials fabrics! what a lovely stash :-)

    1. I am sure I can find something to do with these lovelies before my AMH stash outgrows my sewing room. Thanks for visiting!

  4. I’ve totally been digging corals lately too! I just finished a top secret quilt usually corals, red, and pinks… oops, I wasn’t supposed to say that out loud! ;-)

    1. It’s one of my favourite colours to wear in the summer, as well. On 2014-04-28 10:11 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. gosselindenise54 · ·

    Very nice fabrics Lisa!

    1. Thanks, I’m pretty happy with my stash addition!

      On Tue, Apr 29, 2014 at 6:58 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  6. Haha… I discovered why I hadn’t remembered this canvas print: I’m so far behind on my blog reading, that I only just read this post tonight :D

    That unknown purple and green print is sure an interesting one… like nothing I’ve ever seen before, I think.

    1. I know, sometimes I have to scroll down to the bottom of my reading list and go in reverse order to try to catch up :). As long as we’re behind because we’re sewing instead…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

