Brought to you by the letter T

T is for triangle. As in the Triangle QAL with Paula at The Sassy Quilter (and BTW she has a giveaway running until April 27).

I must say, piecing this quilt is quite a challenge. I managed to put together one strip wrong, by rotating the diamonds the wrong way. Fortunately with the solids it doesn’t matter much, but I’m not so happy with those prints running off at an angle.
pile of triangles
So I changed tactics and just made diamonds (two triangles together), then laid them all out again on the bedroom floor to sort them. I pinned all the seams together roughly, and now I am carefully aligning each to sew to the correct length. As you can see, I have left the ends angled, I will figure out those parts later. And no, the final version will not have two gray triangles touching each other, that would bug me. Thank goodness we have an extra week to make our tops, I’m going to need it.
wpid-img_20140423_080642.jpg
I’ve been sneaking into my sewing room every chance I get to pin or sew a few seams, although tonight I really want to get my taxes filed online (insert sad face)–due date in Canada is April 30.

Oh, and I’ll be making a trip to the Creativ Festival in Toronto this weekend, so I’m sure I will be adding to my stash and project list. Let me know if you’ll be there too!
Linking up to WIP Wednesday with Lee at Freshly Pieced and Needle and Thread Thursday with Kelly at My Quilt Infatuation (click on the button).

freshly pieced wip wednesday Needle and Thread Thursday

19 comments

  1. Oh, that looks fun! Like the color choices. Is that some True Colors by Anna Maria Horner that I am seeing? Can’t wait to see it finished!

    1. Yes indeed! The prints are all Anna Maria Horner, then I added solids which coordinate.

      On Wed, Apr 23, 2014 at 9:31 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. So many people doing the triangle quilt along have problems with orientation, I’ve noticed…you are not alone! Personally, I like the prints running at different angles!

    1. I’m used to webbing together my pieces in squares and rectangles, constructing the triangles is a whole different animal.

  3. HI!!!! It is very pretty!!!!! I have had some issues too!!!!

    1. I think it’s important to share our imperfections, as part of learning and growing. Thanks for stopping by! On 2014-04-23 11:10 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Great work! I admire that you’re going for it with triangles… I keep seeing stunning quilts and I can’t bring myself to want to cut out triangles myself. :-)

    1. Part of the appeal with this quilt is that it is fast, although the triangles are challenging I am so glad I jumped into this and learned a new technique. On 2014-04-24 2:16 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. that looks like such a fun project! I love the triangular pattern :-)

    1. It’s going together fast now that I have more than half the piecing done, I think it’s going to be a super finished quilt! On 2014-04-24 7:30 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. Looks like it is coming along nicely.

    1. I got all the rows pieced yesterday, it’s going to be super! On 2014-04-25 8:09 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. The colors in your triangle quilt are so rich. very pretty!

    Thanks so much for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    1. I didn’t know how great it would look when I picked the colours, but I’m super happy with it! The Kona Pomegranate brightens it up, and the Iron and Lilac provide some nice quiet spots among the saturated blues and purples.

  8. Sorry to see your prints got turned on you, Lisa. You are doing a fine job with the piecing though! Such a pretty mix of prints and solids. Have fun in TO. Wish I could meet up with you for that!

    1. This is a fun quilt to make and I decided not to try to fix the few mis-oriented triangles. I hope to finish in time for the grand parade!

  9. I really like the mix of prints and solids you are using in this top.

  10. Ugh, that reminds me – I haven’t even looked at my tax stuff yet I wonder where I put everything…..

  11. […] four Anna Maria Horner prints and Kona solids, which I am still quilting.  Click over to see my row piecing and quilting progress posts.  I backed it with this gorgeous turquoise print from 1001 Peeps by […]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

