FNSI report for April 19

The online sewing community is so wonderful to be a part of, to know that yesterday, I was sewing together with makers from around the globe.  As I was sewing madly last night, I was tagging #fridaynightsewalong and #fnsi on instagram, so you can go look there for more inspiration and fun photos.

fridaynightsewalong

Easy Street quilt — quilting is done, trimmed, and binding made (yeah!)
binding roll
Broken Herringbone — sashed together, I have to look to see if I have more white for a border, or I may just call it done and move on to the quilting
Broken Herringbone quilt sashed together
And I painted my toenails.

painted toes

All in all, a good Friday.

Have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you next week!

10 comments

  1. looks fab! and toenail painting means… Sunshine! :-)

    1. Sandals always look better with bright toenails :)

  2. Love the herringbone! So impressive.

    1. A rainbow quilt was definitely on my bucket list, and I’m so glad to be getting close to a finish.

  3. I have to make that herringbone block for a swap and I’m scared to death….

    1. The tutorial from Anne at PlayCrafts is really excellent, just keep it close by and take your time. The block itself isn’t that bad, make sure you use lots of starch on the 1″ strips, and finger press before ironing so you don’t distort the seams. Sashing was a lot worse, I would say, because all the edges are on the bias.

  4. That herringbone one could look good with a white binding if you don’t want to put a border but want to continue the white around. It’s really pretty, anyway!

    1. I would love to use a white binding however impractical it might be, I still have one more spot to search for my white fabric, so stay tuned! On 2014-04-20 6:17 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. I so love your herringbone blocks. And thanks for the company Friday night! I’ll keep #fnsi in mind – didn’t know about that one!

    1. I don’t know why I tend to stall out at the sashing phase, but I’m looking forward to finishing the herringbone quilt!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

