KCW Finish#1 – Sally Dress in Purple

I haven’t been doing much garment sewing lately, but it is how I learned to sew. Kids Clothes Week challenges us to sew for an hour every day for our kids. Does this mean I will sew for an hour per day? No, I don’t have that much sewing time. But I will use what sewing time I have on my daughter.
butterfly leggings march 30
Last week, I made a pair of leggings for my daughter. That little tummy is why I am planning to make her 2 or 3 more dresses to wear. These are the size 5 from the Alex and Anna pyjama pant, I simply added an inch to the length to allow for a hem and omitted the cuffs. I will make another pair or two sometime this spring. The butterfly print is a knit end, probably it was about $3/metre. The roll must have been off-centre when printed in the factory, because there is about 15 centimetres (6 inches) along one side of the fabric which is just solid green.

Since I have my cutting table out full for my FMQ set up, I went ahead and cut out several items for this week (these leggings I cut on the kitchen floor, which works but is definitely hard on my knees).

I think I was overly ambitious for KCW, because here it is Saturday and I only have one item finished. The Sally Dress pattern is by veryshannon.com. Definitely more work than I thought it would be, considering there is no zipper, or button holes to make, but definitely a cute finish and she will get a lot of wear out of it this summer.
Sally Dress by Lisa in Port Hope
(She had a violin lesson this morning. That is a 1/16th violin, just adorable.)

I bought the ricrac at the thrift store last summer, and found the vintage pink buttons in my button box, which was handed down from my mom and grandmother. I pleated the skirt instead of gathering, since I think it looks dressier. Other than that, it is a straight size 5, in Art Gallery Fabrics Bespoken in Amethyst from the Fat Quarter Shop. Linking up with Sew and Tell Saturday at Sew Country Chick, and with Sew Cute Tuesday with Alyce at Blossom Heart Quilts.
Sally Dress for Kids Clothes Week 2014

11 comments

  1. what a lovely dress, she look very cute in it :-)

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment! The pattern is well written and I’m happy with the details I added. On 2014-04-12 5:23 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. How adorable! Love the little details – the trim and the buttons just add such a nice touch! Great fabric choices. What a lucky little girl!

    1. Thanks, she was really excited when she woke up Saturday morning and found it!

  3. So sweet! I love that she was excited to receive it. That’s the best!

    1. I think it’s great that she loves what I make for her, one day she’ll be a teenager and that will change :)

    1. Thanks for hosting such a great linky!

  4. The Sassy Quilter · ·

    Oh my goodness that is so cute! and what a great model. I can’t believe she is learning the violin already, that’s great.

    1. You’ll note that the best photo was the one where she wasn’t paying any attention to the camera…music is an important skill which neither of us learned so young when it is still easy to learn.

      On Sun, Apr 13, 2014 at 6:46 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  5. fab dress, she looks abs gorgeous :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

