Deja Vu – Finish A Long Goals for Q2

April, the month of warm temperatures and temptations away from the ball and chain of the sewing machine.  Just kidding.  Fortunately this spring has been slow to start, but I soon will add gardening to my leisure time which will reduce sewing time.

I only finished one of my 5 projects from last quarter, so you will see most of the same projects again. Making these goals has helped, but there was definitely a lot more work involved in each than I had time. (Come back later this week to see what I am working on right now for Kid’s Clothes Week.)

In order from oldest to newest:
Easy Street twin size (Bonnie Hunter 2012 mystery quilt). I finished up the rest of the blocks, assembled the quilt, and am half done the quilting.
Quilting set up
Virtual quilting bee queen size (!) for my nephew (colour scheme aqua, navy, gray, orange). I made another block or two and started adding corners to the ones I had done.
VQB #9VQB #12VQB #5
Refracted (tutorial by Melissa from Happy Quilting) twin for my niece (colour scheme pink, yellow, gray, aqua). No action on this in Q1.
Refracted quilt blocks
Broken herringbone (from Molli Sparkles quilt-along in fall 2013). No action on this in Q1.
Auditioning sashing #MSBHQAL

Linking up to Katy at The Littlest Thistle and Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts for Let’s Bee Social, plus the Needle and Thread Network for WIP Wednesday.
Finish Along 2014tntn

22 comments

  1. Dropping by from LBSocial – some great blocks and your MS Herringbone is looking pretty fab :D

    1. I sometimes step back and wonder how I can make quilts with so many different colour schemes yet I love them all! Thanks for stopping by!

      On Wed, Apr 9, 2014 at 8:00 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. In from Let’s Bee Social! Lisa your projects amaze me! How lovely they are… and I would love to see your fabric stash!! Some gorgeous ones there!

    1. It might be a bit far, but you’re welcome to stop by for tea :) (or wine, my husband and I visited several NS wineries some years ago when we were there). Thanks for leaving such a sweet comment!

  3. Your broken herringbone and the interesting pinwheel block – never seen those before, really stand out to me! Poppin’ in from LB Social!

    1. I think there’s a consensus that I need to finish up my broken herringbone quilt. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Soo many beautiful items!! :) LOVE the herringbone the best… gorgeous! :)

    1. Another vote for the herringbone, I think it might move to the top of the pile :). Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Your list looks do-able ; ) I think I might link up this quarter too

    1. We can cheer each other on! On 2014-04-09 9:53 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. love the blocks you have created! And the Modern fabrics facinate me… I have been making quilts for 40 years and have fallen in love with the Modern estetic!

    1. The VQB blocks are looking fantastic on point, I can’t wait myself to see them finished. On 2014-04-09 10:43 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. Half way down the Easy Street? That’s awesome! And your blocks are sew pretty! I really love that pinwheel block. Good luck with your goals this quarter!

    1. I didn’t make the Q1goal with Easy Street but it’s a shoe-in for Q2. ;) On 2014-04-09 11:11 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  8. Looks like some great WIPs, love the herringbone quilt.

    1. Ah yes, but can I turn them into finished quilts this time? Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! On 2014-04-09 4:21 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  9. Beautiful fabrics in the herringbone quilt. It deserves to be admired by many.

    1. It is a little like a walk through my stash. thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment, it is a great way for me to start my day! On Apr 9, 2014 11:17 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  10. You must have exceptional nieces and nephews if you are making such nice quilts for them (and be an exceptional aunt). The herringbone blocks are nicer each time I see them.

    1. I don’t see my niece and nephew as often as I like, so these quilts will carry lots of hugs with them.

  11. Surely you are not gardening in Ontario quite yet! These will all be really beautiful to see completed :) It is always cool for me to see others putting together more “complicated” blocks/quilts…I tend to keep things pretty simple. Good luck!!

    1. We’re still doing cleanup and waiting for the tulips and daffodils to push up. Thanks for stopping by! On Apr 17, 2014 8:40 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

