Being a Quilter – Modern Quilt Guild Challenge Part 2

In between other things, I have made a few more blocks with my Riley Blake Modern Quilt Guild challenge fabric.  I hope to start putting them together tonight, come back in a week or so to find out what I am making.

Another flying geese block.
Dutchman PuzzleI love this arrangement, called Dutchman’s Puzzle, but I could have made a dozen different blocks starting with just 8 flying geese.

The search for the perfect 1/4″ seam.
IMGP3222
I don’t know if this 4-parch variation has a proper name, I wanted to see how small I could make these little squares (and the answer is, 3/4″ finished).

Paper piecing.  I had decided that I wanted to make some paper pieced blocks to add to my Christmas quilt (see my previous post), so I did.   A bit difficult to start, but you can make so many wonderful designs without having to be super-accurate.  Thanks to the many tutorials out there, I taught myself.

Paper pieced whirling star

Paper pieced whirling star

Based on comments on my last post, I see that many of you also want to learn paper piecing.  So I will share my process and tips in upcoming weeks. This block is from a book I purchased a year or so ago, called 1000 Any Size Quilt Blocks. It is a great resource of a wide variety of types of blocks, some pieced and some foundation paper pieced. It actually is supposed to have another star in the very centre, but I wanted to feature the Riley Blake fabric a little more so I left it like you see.

1000 Any Size Quilt Blocks

1000 Any Size Quilt Blocks

Linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation and Paper Piecing Friday with Quiet Play.

6 comments

  1. the chevron fabric looks so much better cut into small triangles than i had thought it could! Great blocks!

    1. I think with smaller pieces the focus is more on the quilt block rather than the fabric. These are 6″ blocks. I’m loving these little blocks!

  2. A wonderful selection of designs, thank you!

  3. All your blocks are looking great!

  4. wow! these blocks are so fantastic. That star is so pretty!

    Thank you so much for sharing this at Needle and Thread Thursday!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  5. You sure have been busy, Lisa! Love your fresh colour choices used in all of these lovely blocks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

